Cheapest Car Insurance Rates for June 2021
Get a Quick Quote
Cheap Auto Insurance in Alabama: Best Companies & Quotes
If you’re a driver in Alabama, you need to have auto insurance. Not only can it potentially save you a lot of money if an accident occurs, it’s also the law. According to the Alabama Department of Revenue, drivers are required to be insured for at least $25,000 for property damage or destruction, $25,000 for bodily injury or death of one person, and $50,000 for bodily injury or death of two or more people.
Best Car Insurance Companies in Alabama
- State Farm
|AM Best Financial Strength Rating||A++||A++||A+||A+||A++||A|
|JD Power 2019 Overall Customer Satisfaction score||3/5||3/5||3/5||3/5||4/5||4/5|
|Avg Annual Premium||$873||$926||$830||$313||$231||$415|
|Consumer Reports Reader Score||78||78||75||72||92||N/A|
|BBB Rating||A+||B+||A+||A+||Not Rated||A|
Auto Insurance Statistics in Alabama
If you are a new driver in Alabama or planning to relocate to the area, it helps to have an idea about what the average car insurance premiums are. According to NAIC.org, Alabama’s car insurance premiums have remained below the national average for a considerable amount of time. Alabama drivers will enjoy knowing that they pay less for car insurance than other states across the country.
Top 10 Cheapest Car Insurance Companies in Alabama
|Rank||Company||Avg. Annual Premium|
Drunk Driving Fatalities
According to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration, Alabama ranks steadily below the national average when it comes to drunk driving fatalities. This renders it a relatively safe state to drive in when compared with other states across the country. However, according to data, drunk driving fatalities did appear to increase in the years 2013 and 2014.
Drunk driving fatalities in Alabama from 2013 to 2017
Teen Drinking and Driving
Alabama ranks higher than the national average when it comes to teen drinking and driving. It’s important to warn teen drivers of the dangers of driving while under the influence. In addition, auto insurance rates usually climb after a car accident where alcohol was involved.
Teen Drinking & Driving in Alabama vs. Nationwide (2017)
SR-22 Insurance in Alabama
An SR-22 is an insurance policy that is required by certain drivers that are considered at risk or dangerous. In Alabama, if a court deems that you are not capable of driving without extra assurances from an SR-22 policy, you will need to ensure you have this type of insurance before you can get behind the wheel again.
In addition, your insurance provider will be required to submit the form to the court if you want to be eligible to drive. For Alabama drivers that do not own their own vehicle, you will still be required to purchase a ‘non-owners’ insurance policy that covers you when you drive other vehicles.
Car Theft in Alabama
Reports by the Federal Bureau of Investigation indicate that Alabama remains below the national averages when it comes to vehicle theft.
Vehicle thefts Alabama vs. State by year 2012-2016
Uninsured motorists in Alabama
Driving with uninsured and underinsured motorist insurance coverage can help to protect you when an uninsured driver does damage to your vehicle or causes you personal injury. Below is data showing the percentage of uninsured motorists in Alabama vs. nationwide in the year 2015.
Percentage of Uninsured Drivers (Top 10 States in 2015)
Source: Insurance Information Institute
When you’re looking for insurance, it’s also important to get the most bang for your buck. Your insurance rates will depend on a variety of factors, such as your age, driving record, the type of vehicle you drive, and other things. With some car insurance companies, you can get a surprisingly good rate on auto insurance, which means you can save more money to spend on things you really want.
Insurance prices will also depend on which part of Alabama you’re located in. For example, in Birmingham, the state’s biggest city, you might expect rates to be higher. However, you’d be wrong. Birmingham actually has relatively cheap rates relative to the rest of the state. If you’re looking for the cheapest insurance companies in this city, they are:
- National General
- United Services
Of these companies, Progressive wins out as the cheapest, offering average rates of less than $700 per year. All five of these companies are substantially cheaper than average for this region.
Montgomery is Alabama’s capital, and second biggest city. Auto insurance prices here tend to mirror those in Birmingham, although the average rights are slightly higher. Here are the five cheapest auto insurance companies in this area, in descending order of price:
- National General
- United Services
As you can see, Progressive finishes on top again. The overall list of companies is the same as in Birmingham, albeit in a slightly different order.
Things get a bit pricier in Mobile. In fact, it’s the most expensive city for auto insurance in Alabama. Fortunately, we have a list of companies where you can find cheap auto insurance in Mobile, most of which should be familiar by now:
- National General
- United Services
- Integon National
Even though the average person in Mobile pays $1,368 per year for auto insurance, you can get it for around $700-900 at most of these companies. Integon is the only company on this list that charges over $1,000 per year for insurance on average (they average $1,074), but it’s still a major discount from the overall city average.
Huntsville is one of the cheapest places to get auto insurance in Alabama. The city average is under $1,200 a year, and you can find companies on our list offering the requisite insurance for as little as $600. Here are the five cheapest insurance companies for Huntsville:
- United Services
- National General
The average price for auto insurance in Tuscaloosa is almost identical to Birmingham. Unsurprisingly, the list of the five most affordable auto insurance companies in the area includes the same five as Birmingham, though the order is slightly different:
- United Services
- National General
You may have noticed that Progressive seems to consistently have the cheapest auto insurance in Alabama, regardless of the city. Does that make it the best choice? Possibly, but make sure to do your homework. The terms and conditions of each insurance contract can be different, so it’s important to make sure you get the level of coverage you want. All of the companies listed above offer cheap, affordable auto insurance. Ultimately, it’s up to you to make the final call on which one fits your individual needs the best.
Types of Auto Insurance Coverage in Alabama:
- Property Damage Liability Insurance
- Bodily Injury Liability Insurance
- Comprehensive Insurance Coverage
- Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Bodily Injury Insurance
- Uninsured Motorist Property Damage Insurance
Minimum Requirements For Car Insurance in Alabama
There are minimum requirements for car insurance in the state of Alabama. Becoming aware of these laws and requirements can help you to learn about how much coverage you need so you will always be protected against any potential calamity. The minimum amount of auto insurance coverage required in Alabama is listed below:
The Minimum Liability Insurance of Alabama policy stipulates that liability coverage is a requirement for all vehicles that are operated in Alabama.
Liability Coverage minimums include:
- $25,000 for property damage
- $25,000 for death or bodily injury, per person
- $50,000 for death or bodily injury, if multiple individuals are involved
If you have neglected to insure a vehicle in Alabama, you could risk being fined up to $500 on the first offense and $1,000 for the second and following offenses. Additionally, if you have registered an uninsured vehicle, you may have to pay fees up to an additional $400 as well as a risk of a four-month registration suspension.
New Driver Licensing in Alabama
In Alabama, the Alabama Department of Public Safety mandates that every driver that is driving on public roadways needs to have an official driver license. If a new driver or resident has a driver license that has been expired for 3 years or more, they will need to pass a driving test. However, an out of state driver who has a license that isn’t expired over one year can get an Alabama driver’s license without taking a road test.
Age Requirements for Obtaining A Driver’s License in Alabama
New drivers in Alabama need to be 16 years of age or older in order to get a standard Alabama driver license. In the event that the driver is under the age of 19, they will need to demonstrate proof of current enrollment or secondary school graduation.
Drivers Vision Screening
A vision test is required to determine the level of clarity the driver will have while on the road. If they are used to wearing corrective lenses, then the lenses should also be worn during the test taking process. If the vision test isn’t passed, then a mandatory eye exam from an eye specialist will be required.
A written test will also be given which determines the new driver’s knowledge of road rules in keeping with the Alabama Driver License Manual. Once this test is successfully completed, a standard driver license will be issued in the mail within 30 days time. A restricted picture license will be issued to drivers who are applying for a learner’s license.
Cheap Auto Insurance Discounts
At Cheap Auto Insurance, we understand that you are looking for the most affordable auto insurance available in Alabama. That is why we make it easy for you to compare car insurance rates so that you can take advantage of great savings. There are many different types of car insurance discount. Below are some of the ones we have found to provide the highest level of savings.
- Anti-theft discount
- Bundling insurance policies discount
- Car safety features discount
- Defensive driving discount
- Good student discount
- Infrequent usage discount
- Low-mileage discount
- Mature driver discount
- Military or Veteran discount
- Multi-car auto insurance discount
- Senior citizen discount
General Alabama Car Insurance Questions
When getting car insurance in Alabama, most people ask the following common questions.
How Much is Car Insurance in Alabama?
The average auto insurance in Alabama is around $723. This is much less than the national average price. Auto insurance prices vary according to the driving record, zip code and the total number of claims filed. There are various discounts available such as auto insurance for seniors or student discounts.
Who Has the Cheapest Auto Insurance in Alabama?
In a recent study, Progressive had the cheapest auto insurance in Alabama. For a 30 year old driver, with a good driving record, the rate could be as low as $673. The Alabama average for the same conditions is $1,249. Learn more about who has the cheapest auto insurance. Also take a look at our Geico vs Progressive comparison.
How much is auto insurance in Alabama compared to Georgia?
Alabama is cheaper than Georgia in general for typical car insurance policies. Non-typical policies such as Georgia sr22 insurance may be a different scenario since laws are different.
What is the Penalty for Not Having Car Insurance in Alabama?
For the first violation, driving a car without car insurance can be fined up to $500. For the second violation, the fine can be as much as $1,000, and the license suspended for up to six months. Vehicle registration is also suspended.
Who Has Lowest Cost Home and Auto Insurance Alabama?
Progressive has the cheapest home and auto insurance rates. For a 2,000 square foot home, Progressive’s home insurance rate is $1,634 compared to the state average of $2,327. Progressive has a low $673 rate on auto insurance. Take a look at our Allstate vs State Farm review as well.
What is the Minimum Auto Insurance Coverage in Alabama?
According to Alabama car insurance laws, it is necessary to have liability insurance with a minimum of $25,000 for bodily injury or death of a person; a total of $50,000 for bodily injury or accidental death; and up to $25,000 for property damage.
What are Alabama Car Insurance Requirements When Buying from a Car Dealer?
It is mandatory to obtain a vehicle insurance coverage before registering a newly bought car. The car would also need be titled through the Department of Revenue with the corresponding vehicle ownership document. Other requirements include VIN and ownership paperwork inspection. You can also buy cheap auto insurance online even by just filling out our form above.
What is the Recommended Car Insurance Coverage in Alabama?
Besides the minimum car insurance requirements, it is recommended that the car owner have optional coverage including: Comprehensive coverage which will pay for damages to your car that are beyond your control; Collision coverage for accident-related damages; and medical and funeral, to cover medical and funeral bills after an accident. These coverages could change depending on the type of policy you need such as collector car insurance for example.
How Much is Car Insurance in Alabama Per Month?
The average car insurance costs in Alabama is around $800 annually, equivalent to $66.67 per month. Additional annual coverage costs would be $318 for Collision, and $156 for Comprehensive coverage. Many people find affordable car insurance by doing a little comparison work to find the best rate. Even still others find car insurance first month free offers to save even more.
What is Alabama Civil Law on Car Accidents When Liable Party Has No Insurance?
Drivers pulled over at a traffic stop or were involved in an accident who did not have any car insurance would face fines and penalties of $200 for the first offense, $300 for the second offense, and $400 for each succeeding offense.
How Large of a Deductible for Car Insurance in Alabama on a Financed Car?
Collision and comprehensive coverage for car insurance in Alabama includes a deductible which can be as much as $1,000. If the car is damaged, the coverage pays only for the damage in excess of the deductible. The higher the deductible, the lower the premium. Related: When do you pay the deductible for car insurance?
How Much is Car Insurance in Alabama for a 37 Year Old?
The car insurance in Alabama for a 37 year old would start at between $525 to $552 per year. More coverage could increase the car insurance cost up to $1,564. The cost would differ depending on the driver’s history, car make and model, and the insurance company.
How Much Car Insurance is Required in Alabama?
A car owner is required to have car insurance coverage of at least $25,000 for bodily injury or death of a person; a total of $50,000 for bodily injury or accidental death; and up to $25,000 for property damage. A local car insurance broker may help you better understand requirements.
Who Does Not Need to Change Address and Car Insurance When in Alabama?
When you change address, you need to inform your car insurance company. You should also submit a request for change of address with the Alabama DMV. When you renew your car registration the new address will reflect on it.
How to Verify a Car Insurance Status in Alabama Department of Revenue?
The Alabama Department of Revenue uses an online insurance verification system (OIVS). It is a web based inquiry system for real time verification of insurance policy information with the insurers. The department, along with licensing officials and law enforcement agencies have access to the OIVS.
Who is Required to Have Auto Insurance in the State of Alabama?
Anyone who owns a car is required to have auto insurance in Alabama. Drivers who are caught without any car insurance will be fined accordingly. Driving without auto insurance is fined $500 for the first instance and the driver’s license is suspended.
Why is Alabama Auto Insurance So Expensive?
Alabama auto insurance rates are more expensive than the national average because there is a large percentage of drivers without any car insurance. Those with insurance coverage compensate for those driving without insurance. Additionally, Alabama has a very high vehicle fatality rate which is more than twice the country’s average. Take a look at the cheapest cars to insure.
Who Has the Cheapest Auto Insurance Quotes in Alabama for Teens?
Allstate car insurance quotes come out to $186 per month in Alabama but that could definitely change depending on many variables specific to you.. This is for the minimum car insurance required by law, and the teen driver has to have a clean driving record. Teens have higher insurance rates than adults because of their inexperience as drivers.
How Can I Register My Car Insurance Information in the State of Alabama?
You will need to provide your car insurance information when you register your car in Alabama. Before registering your car, first apply for an Alabama title. In Alabama, get your car insurance from within the state.
What is the Best Insurance Coverage on a Used Car in Alabama?
One of the best insurance coverage on a used car in Alabama is from Geico. Other insurers which are considered among the best include State Farm, Allstate and Progressive. They provide the best coverage for reasonable rates.
How Much Should You Pay for a Full Coverage Car Insurance in Alabama??
Expect to pay upwards of $98 per month for a full coverage car insurance in Alabama. Full coverage means that the insurance includes collision and comprehensive as well as mandatory liability insurance. To get cheap full coverage car insurance quotes use our form above.
What Can I Do to Lower Auto Insurance Premiums in Alabama?
You need to shop around for the lowest rates. If you are buying a care, compare insurance costs between cars. You can also ask for higher deductibles. You will have to pay more in case of an accident. If you have an older car, request for a lower coverage.
What is Alabama Car Insurance Requirements When Buying from a Car Dealer?
After buying a car from a dealer, you should get a car insurance before you register it with the DMV. Get the insurance to cover at least the minimum coverage, and the necessary additional coverage.
What are the Laws for Car Insurance in Alabama?
The Alabama Mandatory Liability Insurance Law is the main legislation which dictates the state’s car insurance laws. Included in Alabama’s laws is that the state follows the “fault” system financial responsibility for injuries, damage and other losses, minimum coverage, and penalties for driving without car insurance.
Typically, How Much Does Commercial Auto Insurance in Alabama?
The average cost of commercial auto coverage is from $900 to $1,200. Factors considered for the rate include the motor vehicle reports with tickets or accidents in the past 3 years; vehicles with more than 10,000 pounds gross vehicle weight; usual radius of operation; and if speedy delivery is required.
How Long in Alabama Do You Have to Get Insurance After Buying a Used Car?
Depending on the policy, you have between seven to thirty days to inform the insurer that you bought a car. However, most car dealerships in Alabama would not let the car be driven off the lot without insurance because in Alabama it is illegal to drive a car without car insurance.
What Type Insurance Do I Need for Leasing and Purchasing a Car in Alabama?
Leased cars require car insurance with full coverage. This includes comprehensive and collision coverage. Leasing companies usually require higher limits on liability coverage. You would have to sign up for up to $100,000/$300,000 for bodily injury and $50,000 for property damage. If you are a member of the armed forces in Alabama then look for companies specializing in military car insurance savings.
How Does Alabama Rate Auto Insurance with Accidents in Another State?
If you encounter an accident in another state, the auto insurance rate may or may not be affected. Car insurance companies have their own rules about increasing rates after the driver is involved in an accident. Some companies do not increase rates if the driver is not at-fault.
What is the Grace Period for Car Insurance in Alabama?
Car insurance firms provide a grace period which range from three to thirty days. Some companies have no late fees, with an extended grace period with a late fee. You should ask the insurance company prior to signing up for a car insurance. Other companies will offer one day car insurance for your transition.
What is the Median Cost for Car Insurance in Alabama for a 22 Year Old Female?
The median cost for car insurance in Alabama for a 22-year old female is roughly $2,412 annually. Besides the age, there are other factors to consider for the cost of insurance. These include, location or city, model of car driven, marital status, driving record, credit history and annual mileage. Check out the average car insurance cost in other categories. Related: How much is car insurance for 25 year old drivers?
What Documents I Need to Get Car Insurance Alabama?
You need to provide the following information when you apply for car insurance in Alabama: type of car; prior auto insurance coverage; how much you drive; your driving record; age, gender and marital status; geographic location; how long you’ve been driving; and if the car is used for business. Alabama also allows insurers to consider credit history to determine the insurance premium.
How Do I Transfer My Car Insurance from Texas to Alabama?
Inform your insurance company about the move. Ask if they do business in your new location. Find out if you need to change or add coverage. Cancel the Texas insurance and sign up for an Alabama car insurance. The Texas insurance is not included in the Alabama online insurance verification system which might lead to penalties due to having no car insurance coverage. Some people will get temporary car insurance for their new location until they’re ready to commit long term to a company. If you have SR22 Texas insurance then this may be a whole different process and it may be best to talk to a local insurance agent and/or legal advisor.
Who Regulates Homeowners and Auto Insurance in the State of Alabama?
The Alabama Commissioner of Insurance and the Alabama Department of Insurance is responsible for the homeowners and auto insurance regulation in Alabama. Insurance companies typically offer a bundled coverage for its customers. This provides premium savings to customers who insure both their homes and cars to the same insurance company. Shop around and get home and auto insurance bundle quotes to compare the best offers.
How Much is Car Insurance in Alabama for New License Ownership?
Car insurance in Alabama for new license ownership can be as low as $313. Car insurance coverage and costs depend on the insurance company, the coverage, age of driver, driving history, car make and model, and others. This is why its best to compare auto insurance rates of multiple companies. We also wrote an article about getting auto insurance with no drivers license since it was a common question.
How Many Years Does a Claim Stay on Your Car Insurance in Alabama?
Insurance firms usually increase the rates of car insurance after an accident. The higher rates may be in effect from three to five years after the claim. The rates can go back to the pre-accident levels if the driver does not have another accident during the same period.
What kind of car insurance do I need in Alabama after a DUI compared to Florida?
Who has the best motorcycle insurance rates?
No one company has the best motorcycle insurance but Liberty Mutual is know as the best for safety discounts. You should compare different options in your area to determine who has the best motorcycle insurance for your needs.
Driving without Car Insurance
It is illegal to drive a vehicle without car insurance in Alabama. Traffic enforcers, the DMV and the Department of Revenue have taken steps to ensure that those without car insurance are apprehended. These are some questions which people ask about enforcement.
How to Prove I Have high risk Car Insurance in Alabama?
Drivers can show proof of insurance by either showing the car insurance policy or its electronic copy. The electronic copy can be stored in their phones. Reaching for their phones is easier to do as it is usually within sight, compared to rummaging around in the glove compartment.
How to Transfer Insurance to Another Car State Farm Alabama?
Go to the State Farm website and login to your account. There are two ways to transfer insurance to another car. You can call the toll-free number on the website. Or you can use the Online Account Access tool.
Do You Need to Submit Insurance When Registering a Car in Alabama?
Yes, you need to submit your insurance when registering a car in Alabama. If the licensing officer cannot confirm your insurance online, you can show a proof of registration instead. Show up-to-date or the most recent documents when registering your car.
What is the Fine for Not Having Car Insurance in Alabama?
The fine for not having car insurance in Alabama is $500 for the first offense and $1,000 for succeeding violations. The driver’s license will also be suspended. For second or subsequent violations, the car registration will be suspended for 4 months.
What is the Process When You Drop Your Car Insurance in State of Alabama?
Inform the insurer that you want to drop the car insurance. The insurer has a procedure for this, which includes filling up some forms. Ask for a refund if you have months left on the policy. If you are still making payments on the car, inform the lending company that you are switching insurers. Contact the Alabama DMV. Cancel any automatic payments on the car.
If a Person in Alabama Has No Car Insurance and Goes to Renew Their Car Tag What Happens?
You have to get auto insurance on your car before you renew the car tags. The car insurance is a requirement for registration, and you would not be allowed to register without it.
What Year Did Alabama Start Requiring Insurance on a Car?
Alabama started requiring mandatory car insurance on January 1, 2013. The law prohibits car owners from driving without car insurance. Insurance is also a requirement for car registration. The state Revenue Department oversees the online insurance verification system which checks insurance companies’ records to see if a motorist has insurance.
How Long is Alabama Car Insurance Allowed to Investigate a Claim?
You do not need to file a lawsuit in order to recover claims from your car insurance. Alabama laws state that you have up to 2 years to file a claim. However, insurance purposes, you should file an insurance claim within a days or a few weeks after the accident.
How Much is the Fine for Not Having Car Insurance Alabama?
Driving without car insurance is not allowed in Alabama. If a driver is caught at a stop without car insurance, the fine is $500 for the first offense, $1,000 for the second and license suspension for the succeeding violation. Vehicle registration is also suspended for those without car insurance.
How Do I Get My Car Registration Back If I Didn't Have Insurance in Alabama?
You need to have your car insured first, before you apply for a reinstatement. For reinstatement after first offense, there is a $200 registration reinstatement fee and a demonstration of proof of insurance for 1 year after reinstatement. The reinstatement will only take effect after the registration suspension has been lifted. Related: Where can I get rebuilt title insurance?
Why is Mandatory Auto Liability Insurance Not Enforced in Alabama?
Mandatory liability insurance is enforced in Alabama. The law took effect on January 1, 2013. Driving without a car insurance can be fined up to $500 for the first offense. Traffic enforcers use the online insurance verification system (OIVS) to verify if the driver has car insurance. To get a quote for cheap liability only auto insurance enter a zip code above.
How to Verify a Car Insurance Status in Alabama Department of Revenue?
Alabama maintains an online insurance verification system (OIVS) which provides an online real-time verification system accessible to traffic enforcers, licensing officials, the DMV and the Department of Revenue. When a vehicle is stopped at a traffic light, the officer accesses the OIVS to check if the car is insured.
What Does It Mean to Suspend Your Auto Insurance Alabama?
You can suspend your auto insurance in Alabama for vehicles which you don’t drive, or will not be used on the road for a length of time. This is a way to save money on car insurance for out-of-use vehicles.
Claims and Damages
The main use of insurance is to pay for damages to property and for any death and injury due to an accident. When signing up for car insurance, these are the common questions people ask:
How Long Does Auto Insurance Have to Settle a Claim in Alabama?
If you are involved in a car accident in Alabama, you have two years from the day of the accident to file a claim for personal injury and property damage. Filing a lawsuit is not necessary for insurance claims. It is advised that insurance claims be filed promptly or within a reasonable time after the accident, which means a days after the accident and up to a few weeks maximum.
What Kind of Car Insurance is Required by Law in Alabama?
The required car insurance in Alabama should have the minimum coverage of $25, 000 for death or bodily injury to one person; $50,000 for death or bodily injury to two or more persons; and $25,000 for property damage.
How to Find Out Who an Insurance Company is in Alabama for a Car Accident?
One of the first things you should do when involved in a car accident is to get the name of the other party’s insurer. This is part of the information you need to write down, including the name of the driver, plate number, and any witnesses. You should also call the authorities so they can have a proper investigation.
Cheap Car Insurance Near Me in Alabama
How Helpful was this Article?
Please Rate this Article
You must be logged in to submit a review.