Cheapest Car Insurance Rates in 2023
Get a Quick Quote
Cheap SR 22 Auto Insurance in Arkansas: Best Companies & Quotes
Car Insurance Expert
Joanna is an expert on understanding how the different laws and regulations in the car insurance industry shape the way that policies work.
Best Car Insurance Companies in Arkansas
- State Farm
|AM Best Financial Strength Rating||A+||A++||A++||A++||A++||A+|
|JD Power 2019 Overall Customer Satisfaction score||3/5||3/5||N/A||3/5||4/5||3/5|
|Avg Annual Premium||$910||$490||$951||$484||$248||$486|
|Consumer Reports Reader Score||72||78||4/5||78||92||75|
|BBB Rating||A+||A+||A+||B+||Not Rated||A+|
Auto Insurance Statistics in Arkansas
Car insurance rates in Arkansas have stayed reasonably low for many years according to data released by the NAIC.org.
Top 10 Cheapest Car Insurance Companies in Arkansas
|Rank||Company Name||Avg. Annual Premium|
|5||Southern Farm Bureau||$1,384|
Drunk Driving Fatalities
An annual report put out by the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration revealed that Arkansas has seen a sharp decline in drunk driving deaths in 2012 and 2013. However, the year 2014 showed a major increase in incidences of drunk driving fatalities.
Drunk Driving Fatalities in Arkansas from 2013 to 2017
Teen Drinking and Driving
In Arkansas, teen drinking has been high, however, it has not yet surpassed the national average for teen drinking according to The Center for Disease Control. It is important to warn any teen drivers in your household about the potential dangers inherent in drinking while intoxicated. Early intervention and prevention are the best ways to avoid fatalities from drinking and driving.
Teen Drinking & Driving in Arkansas vs. Nationwide (2017)
SR-22 Insurance in Arkansas
For drivers in the state of Arkansas that have been convicted of not purchasing insurance or driving under the influence, they will need to purchase an SR-22 insurance policy to regain their license. This is a form of insurance policy that is given to state authorities to ensure that you have ample coverage.
In Arkansas, you are required to have this type of insurance for three years after you start driving again. If you do plan on purchasing an SR-22 insurance policy in Arkansas, make sure that you shop around for different rates — your flawed driving record can drive up prices.
Car Theft in Arkansas
The Federal Bureau of Investigation reports the national average of car theft to be about 215 while in Arkansas, the statistics show a lower amount. To protect against vehicular theft, it is recommended to get comprehensive car insurance coverage. This type of coverage may be more expensive upfront but in the long run, the added protection will be worth it.
Vehicle Thefts by Rank Nationwide vs. Arkansas
Uninsured Motorists in Arkansas
Uninsured and underinsured motorist coverage provides reimbursements for drivers in Arkansas who have been in an accident where the other driver was underinsured or uninsured. The below statistics show how well Arkansas ranks in the total number of reported uninsured motorists in the state in the year 2015.
Percentage of uninsured drivers (Top 10 States in 2015)
How to Get the Lowest Rates for Car Insurance in Arkansas
It’s a simple process to obtain the lowest possible car insurance rates, but it’s not always something you can achieve. The better your driving record the lower the fee you will pay each year. If you have numerous tickets, accidents, and a bad driving record as a whole, you’ll pay far more. If you want the lowest possible rates, you’ll want to see if you fall into these categories:
- Be a younger woman or an older man
- Get married
- Live somewhere without much traffic or population
- Drive a car no one wants to steal
- Have good credit
Unfortunately for many Arkansas drivers, you can’t change much of this. If you’re an older woman, your rates might be higher than those of your husband as statistically, it’s older men who are better drivers than older women. The same goes for young men. They are traditionally considered more likely to become involved in accidents, therefore they must pay higher rates. Married couples pay lower rates, and many auto insurance companies base your rates on how densely populated your neighborhood is. All insurance companies check your credit before they approve you for a policy, and bad credit means you’re going to pay a much higher insurance premium no matter how good your driving record is.
The Best Arkansas Insurance Rates
There’s always an option available for you in Arkansas. Just because one company offers the lowest rates on average doesn’t mean it’s the right company for you. Your driving record and personal information affect your rates, so you might shop around to find the best rates. With dozens of insurance companies from which to choose, Arkansas statistics show most people find the lowest rates with companies such as the following:
- Horace Mann Property & Casualty Insurance Company
- Safeco Insurance Company of Illinois
- USAA General Indemnity Company
- American National General Insurance Company
- United Home Insurance Company
Many residents in Arkansas aren’t even aware some of these companies offer insurance for their vehicles, and they overlook them in the process of finding an insurance company. This is why it’s imperative to do your homework to understand what’s available to you and how you can get the best possible rates.
Lowering Your Premium
While shopping for an insurance policy, be aware that several factors can change the price of your premium. If you have a car with a security system, an alarm, safety features such as backup cameras and lane change assistance, you can get a lower rate. These features make driving safer, and they make your job a bit easier. Tell your insurance company if your car has any of these features, and you might see a discount on the overall cost of your insurance premium.
One more thing to take note of when shopping for a premium in Arkansas is that you might be able to save significantly on your policy by forgoing monthly payments and paying upfront. Most companies charge a small fee of approximately $5 per month to auto debit or bill you directly, which can add up to $60 per year in fees. Pay your premium up front and many companies will also off you a small discount for doing so. You can save around $100 per month doing this, which makes your insurance premium as cheap as possible.
Types of Auto Insurance Coverage in Arkansas:
- Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Bodily Injury Insurance
- Uninsured Motorist Property Damage Insurance
- Bodily Injury Liability Insurance
- Property Damage Liability Insurance
- Comprehensive Insurance Coverage
Minimum Requirements for Car Insurance in Arkansas
There are minimum requirements for car insurance in the state of Arkansas. According to the Arkansas State Insurance Department, it is mandatory to carry at all least liability coverage when driving on roadways in the state of Arkansas. Failing to do so can have very serious consequences including suspension of registration or driver’s license.
Arkansas Liability Coverage minimums are as follows:
- $25,000 for property-damage liability coverage
- $25,000 for single-person bodily injury or death coverage
- $50,000 for multiple-person bodily injury or death coverage
New Driver Licensing in Arkansas
To obtain a driver license in Arkansas, all drivers are mandated to take specific written and vision tests. The vision test must be passed with a score of 20/40 for a standard license and a score of 20/50 for a restricted license. To pass the written test, drivers must study from the driver study guide which includes all of the required information. The final test is a road test which is given by the Arkansas State Police.
Source: Arkansas Department of Finance and Administration
Cheap Auto Insurance Discounts
At Cheap Auto Insurance, we strive to help you get the very best deals when you buy car insurance online. Browse through the list below to see if you can take advantage of any of these discounts on car insurance.
- Anti-theft discount
- Mature driver discount
- Multi-car auto insurance discount
- Senior citizen discount
- Military or Veteran discount
- Infrequent usage discount
- Car safety features discount
- Low-mileage discount
- Good student discount
- Defensive driving discount
- Bundling insurance policies discount
General Information on Arkansas Auto Insurance
The most basic things you would have to know about your car insurance, you will find here.
Who does auto insurance in Arkansas?
What is a legal auto insurance in Arkansas?
What is a legal proof of car insurance in Arkansas?
What is a full car insurance coverage in Arkansas?
What are the minimum requirements for car insurance in Arkansas?
What is the difference between stacked and unstacked car insurance in Arkansas?
Accidents and How to Deal with Them
Even if you have insurance, getting into an accident is no walk in the park. With this section, you should be able to make better decisions to protect your interests.
Is there a limit to how much you can sue an auto insurance for in Arkansas law?
Can you choose where you have your car repaired in Arkansas on an insurance claim?
How do I get a rental car from insurance claim after car breaks down with Arkansas Farm Bureau?
What is the statute of limitations on car accident insurance in Arkansas?
How do I sign a car title over to insurance Arkansas?
What do I do if someone hits your car with no insurance in Arkansas?
How long does a company have to settle my rental car insurance claim in Arkansas?
How long does my insurance have to pay claim after car is total loss in Arkansas?
What happens when insurance totals your car Arkansas?
What happens in court if I got in a car accident without insurance in the state of Arkansas?
In Arkansas, can an insurance company dictate how long it takes to fix a car?
What happens if you do not call auto insurance company in Arkansas after accident?
Auto Insurance Requirements
This section would cover things you have to know to get the right auto insurance for you.
What agency in Arkansas regulates auto insurance?
In Arkansas, how long after buying a car are you required to get insurance?
Who in household is required to be on car insurance plan Arkansas?
What are the insurance requirements for a bonded titled car in Arkansas?
What auto insurance does Arkansas require?
What insurance do I need in Arkansas for owned car?
When you rent a car in Arkansas, do you have to have full coverage insurance?
Why do auto insurance companies need your driver’s license in Arkansas?
What is the new car insurance transfer period in Arkansas?
Auto Insurance Costs and Related Concerns
Find out more about auto insurance pricing in the state and other information related to that matter.
How much is the average car insurance in Arkansas?
How much does teen car insurance cost in Arkansas?
Why is car insurance so expensive in Arkansas?
How much did car insurance go up in Arkansas in 2018?
How much does a DUI increase high risk car insurance in Arkansas?
How do I save money on car insurance Arkansas?
How much more does it cost to add a child to my car insurance in Arkansas?
What is the cheapest city in Arkansas for car insurance?
How does Arkansas insurance compare to Illinois?
Why is motorcycle insurance so cheap?
Getting a Car Insurance
Find out how you can get a great auto insurance as well as insurance company recommendations based on already existing information and reviews.
How do I buy car insurance in Arkansas?
What is recommended for auto insurance liability amounts for Arkansas?
What do I need to get car insurance in Arkansas?
How do I renew my car insurance in Arkansas?
How can my 20 year old daughter get car insurance in Arkansas?
When do I have to add my son to car insurance in Arkansas?
Where can I get car insurance in Arkansas online?
What is the address for All About Auto Insurance in West Memphis, Arkansas?
315 W Broadway # A, West Memphis, AR 72301, USA
What are the top ranked car insurance companies in Arkansas?
Who has the cheapest auto insurance in Arkansas?
What is a cheap liability only auto insurance in Arkansas?
Which insurance companies offer rideshare TNC coverage in Arkansas?
How do I transfer Kansas insurance to Arkansas?
With everything covered, find out about certain penalties and consequences that you may get in relation to your car insurance.