Cheapest Car Insurance Rates for July 2021
Get a Quick Quote
Cheap Auto Insurance in Louisiana: Best Companies & Quotes
Louisiana is one of the most expensive states in the US to get auto insurance. The average driver has to pay nearly $2,300 annually to have their vehicle insured. If you’re on a tight budget, that can be a problem. However, auto insurance is required by law, and can even save you a boatload of money down the road.
While the law only requires individuals to carry minimum liability insurance, some auto lenders may require additional coverage, such as collision insurance. Whichever policy you end up getting, it’s important not to pay more than you have to. The best way to do this is by shopping around for the best deal. In addition to the usual factors like age and occupation that go into determining your insurance rate, your location matters as well. That’s why we’ve compiled a list of the cheapest auto insurance companies for the five biggest cities in Louisiana including New Orleans, Baton Rouge, Shreveport, Lafayette, and Lake Charles, Louisiana.
Best Car Insurance Companies in Louisiana
- Southern Farm Bureau
|Safeway||Geico||Allstate||USAA||Southern Farm Bureau||Progressive|
|AM Best Financial Strength Rating||A||A++||A+||A++||A+||A+|
|JD Power 2019 Overall Customer Satisfaction score||Not Rated||4/5||4/5||5/5||5/5||3/5|
|Avg Annual Premium||$1,433||$1,762||$2,019||$650||$1,095||$1,348|
|Consumer Reports Reader Score||N/A||78||72||92||N/A||75|
|BBB Rating||A+||A+||A+||Not Rated||A+||A+|
Auto Insurance Statistics in Louisiana
Louisiana is one of the states with the highest auto insurance rates. Drivers looking for affordable car insurance rates can benefit from learning how Louisiana ranks in the cost of car insurance when compared with other states nationwide.
Top 10 Cheapest Car Insurance Companies in Louisiana
|Rank||Company Name||Avg. Annual Premium|
|1||Southern Farm Bureau||$1,636|
Drunk Driving Fatalities
Drinking and driving is illegal yet all across the country this dangerous practice continues. Due to the potential for injury and even death, it is essential to avoid driving while under the influence of alcohol. Learning about the rate of drunk driving fatalities in Louisiana can provide insight into the level of risk drivers face. The National Highway Traffic Safety Administration has done a tally of the number of drunk driving fatalities in Louisiana vs. nationwide.
Drunk driving fatalities in Louisiana from 2013 to 2017
Teen Drinking and Driving
Teen drinking and driving in Louisiana has been less than the national average and indicates that fewer teens in the state are driving while under the influence when compared with the rate of teens drinking and driving across the country. The below statistics represent the percentage of Louisiana drivers that are teenagers who are drinking and driving when compared with national averages.
Teen Drinking & Driving in Louisiana vs. Nationwide (2017)
Source: Center For Disease Control
SR-22 Insurance in Louisiana
If you have your license suspended in Louisiana, you have a few different options if you want it to be reinstated. In most cases, you will be able to pay a $30,000 deposit with the state treasurer as a security deposit that prove your future financial responsibility. If this is unaffordable, you can purchase an SR-22 insurance policy.
An SR-22 policy is proof that you have a minimum level of coverage. Your insurance provider will be required to provide proof of your coverage and notify the DMV if you cancel or alter your current policy. This is done to ensure you can cover the costs of an accident.
Car Theft in Louisiana
Learning about the levels of car theft in Louisiana can provide insight into how often vehicular theft takes place. The rate of car theft appears to have been lower than the national average however, 2014 saw a spike in car insurance indicating an upward trend.
Vehicle thefts by rank nationwide vs. Louisiana
Uninsured Motorists in Louisiana
There are drivers that operate motor vehicles in Louisiana without any insurance coverage just like in other areas of the country. If you get into an accident with an uninsured driver, you will have to pay the upfront costs. This is why it is recommended to have uninsured and underinsured motorist coverage. The below data shows how well Louisiana ranks in the total number of reported uninsured motorists in the state in the year 2015.
Percentage of uninsured drivers (Top States in 2015)
Source: Insurance Information Institute
New Orleans, LA
New Orleans is one of the most unique cities in the nation, with rich traditions in food, music, and culture. Unfortunately, if you want to drive here legally, you’re going to pay a hefty price for the insurance. New Orleans has the most expensive auto insurance in the state, with the average consumer paying well over $3,000 annually.
However, taking the time to shop around can lead to a substantially lower price. Southern Farm Bureau offers the cheapest prices on average for this city, at just over $2,200 per year – nearly a $1,000/year savings compared to the overall city average. Progressive, GEICO, State Farm, and Safe Auto round out the rest of the cheapest auto insurance providers for the Big Easy.
Baton Rouge, LA
- Southern Farm Bureau
- State Farm
- Safe Auto
Baton Rouge is Louisiana’s capital and enjoys a thriving economy. Although it may not get the same level of attention as New Orleans, it also has a healthy tourist industry, with a burgeoning art and theater scene. It’s also noted for hosting the Miss USA Pageant in 2014.
Auto insurance here tends to be pretty expensive as well, though not as bad as New Orleans. It ranks as the 8th most expensive place in the state to get your vehicle insured, with consumers paying an average of just under $2,500 yearly. There are discounts to be had, however. Once again, Southern Farm Bureau ranks as the cheapest option here, offering rates averaging around $2,000 per year. Here’s the full list of Baton Rouge’s most affordable and top auto insurance companies:
- Southern Farm Bureau
- State Farm
Shreveport, Louisiana’s third largest city, is shrouded in history due to the prominent role it played during the Civil War. It’s also host to a military installation, the Barksdale Air Force Base.
Auto insurance in Shreveport is quite reasonable compared to the rest of the state. Although it’s one of the bigger cities in Louisiana, it’s the third cheapest place there to get auto insurance, with residents paying an average of about $1,850 yearly. Meanwhile, companies like GEICO, the cheapest option here, offer rates of less than $1,500 annually:
- Southern Farm Bureau
- State Farm
Auto insurance rates in Lafayette, LA – the state’s fourth largest city – are approximately in line with the state average. The average driver here pays a little over $2,300 yearly, with the cheapest company offering average rates of $1,800:
Lake Charles, LA
- Southern Farm Bureau
- State Farm
- Safe Auto
The last city on our list, Lake Charles, has auto insurance rates that are similar to the state average. Residents here pay a bit under $2,300 annually, with the best deals coming from Progressive and GEICO, who offer rates around $1,760 each:
- Southern Farm Bureau
- State Farm
- Safe Auto
Types of Auto Insurance Coverage in Louisiana:
- Comprehensive Insurance Coverage
- Bodily Injury Liability Insurance
- Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Bodily Injury Insurance
- Uninsured Motorist Property Damage Insurance
- Property Damage Liability Insurance
Minimum Requirements For Car Insurance in Louisiana
There are minimum requirements for car insurance in the state of Louisiana. According to Louisiana State Law, it is mandatory to have at least liability coverage for every registered driver who is operating a vehicle in the state.
Liability Coverage minimums for the state of Louisiana:
- $25,000 per single bodily injury or death
- $50,000 per multiple bodily injury or deaths
- $25,000 for property damage
New Driver License Requirements
New residents of Louisiana who plan on driving in the state have 30 days from their official date of residence to get a standard state driver’s license. If a driver has an out of state license that has been expired for just one year, they only need to pass the vision test to get a standard driver’s license.
Louisiana takes part in the Graduated License Program (GDL), which lets drivers get their driver license after they are eligible to obtain a full license. In order to get a learner’s permit, the applicant needs to be at least 15 years of age as well as having a parent or guardian sign off on the application.
Cheap Auto Insurance Discounts
Car insurance discounts are offered by many different car insurance companies in Louisiana and nationwide. Often these discounts aren’t advertised so consumers don’t get a chance to take advantage of them. At CheapAutoInsurance.co, we want to help you save as much as you can on your auto insurance rates. Browse the list below to see if any of the discounts apply to you for even more savings.
- Anti-theft discount
- Mature driver discount
- Military or Veteran discount
- Bundling insurance policies discount
- Senior citizen discount
- Car safety features discount
- Good student discount
- Defensive driving discount
- Low-mileage discount
- Multi-car auto insurance discount
- Infrequent usage discount
General Louisiana Car Insurance
We’ll answer the basic questions about Louisiana car insurance in this section. Use this information to help you understand the answers in the other sections.
What is full coverage auto insurance in Louisiana?
Full coverage in Louisiana means the state minimum coverage. That means 15/30/25 liability protection – $15,000 per person, $30,000 per accident for personal injury protection and $25,000 for property damage liability. Filling out our form above can help you find low cost full coverage auto insurance quotes.
Who offers car insurance in Louisiana?
There are lots of different car insurance companies that operate in Louisiana, some of the most popular ones include:
- State Farm
- Liberty Mutual
- Farm Bureau
Ask if they have car insurance military discounts if you’re a member of the armed services.
What is bodily injury on a Louisiana auto insurance card?
Bodily injury is how much your insurance company will cover for medical costs. The first number is the amount the company will pay per person, and the second number is the amount they’ll pay per accident.
How to pay car insurance in Louisiana?
Every insurance company has different payment processes. You’ll need to check with your specific car insurance company. Most companies accept checks, automatic debit charges, and online payments.
How to take out a new car insurance policy in Louisiana?
You’ll need your driver’s license number and social security number, along with the driver’s license number and social security number of anyone else on the policy. Then, just contact the insurance company with the best deal for you and sign up for insurance. Read more: How much does it cost to insure a car?
How does Louisiana car insurance work?
Louisiana car insurance laws require all drivers to have a minimum level of liability insurance coverage. There may be additional insurance requirements imposed by car lenders or the legal system. The minimum coverage required is 15/30/25.
Louisiana Car Insurance Laws
Every state has their own car insurance laws. This section answers your questions about car insurance laws in Louisiana.
What is the minimum auto insurance coverage in Louisiana?
15/30/25 – $15,000 for personal injury, up to $30,000 per accident, and $25,000 for property damage coverage.
What’s the penalty for not having car insurance in Louisiana when not at fault in a crash?
Even if you’re not at fault for the crash, you’ll still face penalties from Louisiana for not having car insurance. The fines run from $500 to $1000 and you’ll pay an escalating registration reinstatement fee the more times you’re found to not have insurance.
What is the fine for a child not covered by car insurance in Louisiana?
There’s a reinstatement fee that totals $60 and a fine between $500 and $1,000 for someone who drives without insurance.
How long do I have to buy high risk car insurance in Louisiana?
You need car insurance to register your vehicle in the state of Louisiana, and you need to have a registration within 30 days of moving to the state. Learn more about how to buy car insurance online when you’re ready.
When should you add children to car insurance Louisiana?
You should add children to car insurance in Louisiana as soon as they get their full license. Usually your policy will cover them while they’re learning to drive on a permit.
What is the deadline for filing auto insurance after a collision in Louisiana?
You have one year to file a lawsuit regarding any auto accident in Louisiana. However, your car insurance company might have different restrictions on reporting an accident to get coverage. Related: How do I obtain insurance for rebuilt title?
What car insurance is required in Louisiana when financing?
The state of Louisiana doesn’t have any elevated insurance requirements for people financing their car. However, your auto lender may require you to get comprehensive coverage.
How long you can go without car insurance Louisiana?
You need to be covered by some kind of insurance whenever you’re driving in Louisiana. You have 30 days to move your insurance to the state when you move there, as that’s how long you have to register your car. We also have been asked about auto insurance no license options which we cover in another article.
What do you need to do to store a car with no insurance in Louisiana?
You need to get a vehicle statement of non-use. This will allow you to cancel your liability insurance and not get a penalty from the state.
What year did it become mandatory to have car insurance for Louisiana?
Louisiana was part of the second wave of states to introduce mandatory insurance laws, and drafted its laws in the mid 1970’s.
What happens if I drop the insurance on a car in Louisiana?
The insurance company will notify the Louisiana DMV that you don’t have insurance. You’ll then have 10 days to provide proof of insurance or your vehicle registration will be blocked.
Do I have insurance when I drive my new car off the lot Louisiana?
That depends on your current policy. Most policies give you between 4 and 9 days to transfer insurance when you buy a new car. However, you’ll want to transfer insurance as soon as possible to ensure you’re protected. In the meantime if you don’t have insurance that will do this you can just get same day car insurance from a new policy.
What are basic requirements for auto insurance Louisiana?
The basic requirements for auto insurance in Louisiana include $15,000 for persona injury protection, up to $30,000 per accident, and $25,000 for property damage liability.
How much is the penalty for no auto insurance in Louisiana?
Not having auto insurance carries a fine of $500-$1,000 in Louisiana. You’ll also face registration fees that escalate for every offense of not having insurance.
In Louisiana, how long to change auto insurance for new car?
That depends on your current car insurance policy. Usually you’ll have between 4 and 9 days to notify your company you have a new car, but it’s best to change your insurance as soon as possible.
In Louisiana law, when does first DUI fall off traffic record for auto insurance?
Louisiana keeps a DUI on your record for auto insurance for a period of 10 years. That means it will affect your insurance rates for a long time.
In Louisiana, who is liable for a car without insurance?
That depends on lots of different factors. Usually, the person driving the car is liable, but the owner may be responsible as well in some circumstances.
How long can car insurance see your accident in Louisiana?
That depends on what other citations were issued in the course of an accident. Most driving violations fall off your record in 5 years in Louisiana, but minor violations only stay for 3 years.
Louisiana Car Insurance Prices
Price is one of the most important things for people researching car insurance. We’ll answer your questions about prices for car insurance in Louisiana in this section.
How much is car insurance in Louisiana?
On average, Louisiana car insurance costs $1,231.77 per year. That means it’s below the US average annual cost of $1,426.
Why is Louisiana car insurance so expensive?
Louisiana car insurance isn’t actually that expensive. On average, drivers pay $200 less per year than they do in the rest of the country. In addition you may be able to find cheap local car insurance companies to offer lower rates.
Who has the cheapest car insurance in Louisiana?
That depends on what you’re looking for. Farm Bureau insurance has the best price for low-mileage drivers, those with one at-fault crash, and those with no crashes. Allstate is the best option for people with poor credit, and Progressive has the lowest rates on minimum coverage. Some shoppers look for low income auto insurance however there may not be a specific product offered by insurers that is based on income. Read more: What is the cheapest auto insurance company?
What auto insurance is usually cheapest for first time drivers Louisiana?
How much is liability car insurance in Louisiana?
How much does car insurance cost per month in Louisiana?
In Louisiana, car insurance costs an average of $1,231.77 per year, which works out to a payment of about $102.58 per month. Use a car insurance comparison website such as ours to find the lowest rate.
What would the average auto insurance be for 18-year-old female in Louisiana?
That depends on if you’re getting a teen policy on your own or if you’re getting added to your parent’s policy. A teen policy costs about $8,030 per year, whereas it will cost an average of $3,019 per year on your parent’s policy. Check out the average monthly car insurance payment as well.
Why is Louisiana car insurance going up?
Insurance rates are going up across the country. There are lots of different reasons for this, but one of the biggest is the rising cost of health care. This means insurance companies need to pay out more when they pay, so they charge higher rates.
How much does car insurance cost Louisiana?
On average, Louisiana residents will pay about $102 per month for car insurance, which comes out to about $1,230 per year. Learn more: How much for car insurance?
What is the typical cost of car insurance in Louisiana for a new leased car?
Leased cars typically require comprehensive insurance. In Louisiana, that will cost you an average of an extra $251 per year over the state minimum. Compare this to American classic car insurance for example and you’ll definitely be paying less.
Who has the best car insurance rates in Louisiana?
Different companies are best depending on your situation. Farm Bureau insurance is best if you have on or no accidents or drive low-mileage. Allstate is best if your credit is poor, and Progressive is the best option for state minimum coverage. Look for discounts like the best car insurance for seniors if that describes you.
How to get cheap car insurance in Louisiana?
The best way to get cheap car insurance in Louisiana is to shop around and see what different companies will offer you. Try companies that aren’t national – many people get great rates from Farm Bureau Insurance in Louisiana. Look for car insurance no down payment options to save money.
How much does a motorcycle safety course save on insurance?
The savings you get from a motorcycle safety course depends on your driving record, state, and what kind of bike you have. Different motorcycle insurance companies may offer varying discounts too.
Louisiana Car Insurance Claims and Coverage
If you have to use your car insurance, it’s important to understand the process. This section covers questions about claims and coverage in Louisiana.
Explain how the Louisiana minimum auto insurance policies work if you are hit by a drunk driver?
The way minimums work in Louisiana for car insurance is that the insurance company will pay up to $15,000 in personal injury damage per person in an accident, up to $30,000 per accident. The company will also pay up to $25,000 for property damage.
What happens when an insurance company totals a car Louisiana?
When a car is determined a total loss in Louisiana, the insurance company will pay the fair market value of the car, minus any deductible. They’ll also take the title to the car and sell it for salvage.
How long does car insurance have to respond to claim Louisiana?
There’s no set law in Louisiana for how long a car company has to respond to a claim. However, you have up to one year to file a lawsuit in a car accident case. You can get more information from the Louisiana Department of Insurance.
What is the insurance law for totaling a car in Louisiana?
The law says that the insurance company will take the title to the totaled car. The company will pay out the fair market value of the car minus any deductible on the insurance.
Car accident in Louisiana without cops - how do you claim insurance?
You claim insurance the same way you would if the police were involved. You don’t need a police report to file an insurance claim, it’s just very helpful in determining the facts of the case.
Other Louisiana Car Insurance Questions
Car insurance is very complex, and there’s a lot of questions that don’t fit into our categories. We’ll answer those questions here.
Do you turn in tags when you drop insurance in Louisiana on a car?
Yes, you’ll need to turn in your plates and get a statement of non-use when you drop insurance on a car in Louisiana.
How to cancel insurance when car is stolen in Louisiana?
You’ll need to call your car insurance company and explain the situation to them. They’ll be able to help you with the next steps.
I moved out of Louisiana, how do I cancel my auto insurance?
You can cancel your insurance by calling your auto insurance company. You’ll also need to turn in your plates to the DMV and provide proof you’ve moved.
How do I renew my auto insurance in Louisiana?
Every car insurance company has different renewal policies. Most companies automatically renew your car insurance when your term expires.
How to cancel car insurance in Louisiana?
That depends on your situation. Usually, you’ll need to either have other insurance or you’ll have to turn in your plates and obtain a statement of non-use before you can legally cancel your insurance. You should call your insurance company for more information.
Can't afford car insurance in Louisiana, what to do with vehicle?
You can get a statement of non-use for the vehicle. This will make it illegal to use the vehicle on any roads or freeways in the state, but you won’t be required to have insurance.
How to file complaint against auto insurance company in Louisiana?
You’ll want to contact the Louisiana Department of Insurance if you have a complaint with an auto insurance company in the state.
Up to what age can your child stay on your auto insurance in Louisiana?
Your child can stay on your car insurance as long as they live at home with you or use your home as their primary address while they’re at school. Unlike health care, there’s no law about what age you have to pick up your own insurance policy.
What company offers non-owner car insurance Louisiana?
Cheap Car Insurance Near Me in Louisiana
How Helpful was this Article?
Please Rate this Article
You must be logged in to submit a review.