Cheapest Car Insurance Rates for May 2021
Get a Quick Quote
Cheap Auto Insurance in Massachusetts: Best Companies & Quotes
With all the complicated rules and regulations governing insurance in Massachusetts, finding the right provider can sometimes seem like a hassle. The insurance laws in this state are fairly extensive, requiring all drivers to have at least the minimum coverage.
Best Car Insurance Companies in Massachusetts
|AM Best Financial Strength Rating||A||A+||A||A++||A+||A+|
|JD Power 2019 Overall Customer Satisfaction score||Not Rated||3/5||3/5||4/5||4.5/5||3/5|
|Avg Annual Premium||$389||$411||$421||$535||$970||$762|
|Consumer Reports Reader Score||N/A||N/A||N/A||78||N/A||75|
|BBB Rating||A+||A+||Not Rated||A+||A+||A+|
Auto Insurance Statistics in Massachusetts
Auto insurance rates in Massachusetts especially Boston, MA have been significantly higher than the national averages. After a downward trend started in 2007, the numbers are back up once again with no sign of decreasing.
Top 10 Cheapest Car Insurance Companies in Massachusetts
|Rank||Company Name||Avg. Annual Premium|
|3||Norfolk and Dedham||$1,195|
Drunk Driving Fatalities
Drinking and driving is against the law but it still occurs in many states all across the country. With the high potential for injury and even death, it is essential to abstain from driving while under the influence of alcohol. Finding out the rate of drunk driving fatalities in Massachusetts can provide insight into the level of risk drivers face. The National Highway Traffic Safety Administration has done a tally of the number of drunk driving fatalities in Massachusetts vs. nationwide.
Drunk driving fatalities in Massachusetts from 2013 to 2017
Teen Drinking and Driving
Teen drinking and driving in Massachusetts has become a serious epidemic with a percentage rate that is above the national average. The below statistics represent the percentage of Massachusetts drivers that are teenagers who are drinking and driving when compared with national averages.
Teen Drinking & Driving in Massachusetts vs. Nationwide (2017)
Source: Center For Disease Control
SR-22 Insurance in Massachusetts
Most states in the US require their drivers to have SR-22 certificates to reinstate their driver’s licenses after a ban, DUI, or other infraction. Massachusetts is one of the few states that does not require its residents to purchase this type of insurance to regain their license.
This being said, this does not mean that you will be able to reinstate your license straight away. You will still need to undergo whatever punishment is issued by the court. In the case of a DUI, you may also need an ignition interlock device that can only be activated via a breathalyzer that can detect alcohol on your breath. You might still be required to purchase an SR-22 if you want to travel to other states via a vehicle — make sure to ask your insurance provider.
Car Theft in Massachusetts
Learning about the levels of car theft in high populated areas such as Boston, Massachusetts, can provide insight into how often vehicular theft takes place here. The rate of car theft in the state of Massachusetts appears to be significantly lower than the national average.
Vehicle thefts by rank Nationwide vs. Massachusetts
Uninsured Motorists in Massachusetts
There are drivers that operate motor vehicles in Massachusetts without any insurance coverage and when an accident occurs with one of these drivers, you may be left paying the bill. This is why it is recommended to have the right car insurance in the form of uninsured and underinsured motorist coverage. The below data shows how well Massachusetts ranks in the total number of reported uninsured motorists in the state in the year 2015.
Percentage of uninsured drivers (Top States in 2015)
Source: Insurance Information Institute
Minimum Requirements For Car Insurance in Massachusetts
Bodily Injury to Others:Personal Injury Protection:Bodily Injury Caused by an Uninsured Auto:Damage to Someone Else’s Property:
- Bodily Injury to Others: $20,000 per person; $40,000 per accident
- Personal Injury Protection: $8,000 per person, per accident
- Bodily Injury Caused by an Uninsured Auto: $20,000 per person; $40,000 per accident
- Damage to Someone Else’s Property: $5,000 per accident
With significant penalties for driving without insurance, it’s not worth the risk. Unfortunately, auto insurance can be expensive. Most of us don’t want to pay more than we have to, which is why we’ve made a list of the cheapest auto insurance companies for the five biggest cities in Massachusetts.
By far the largest city in Massachusetts, as well as the biggest in the New England region, Boston is a city whose historical significance is second to none in the US. One of the nation’s oldest cities, it was originally founded by Puritan settlers who came from England. The influence of religion, history, and politics can still be felt in this unique, vibrant city.
As you might expect, auto insurance rates in Boston are on the high side for the state, ranking 8th overall among Massachusetts cities. The average resident here spends well over $1,900 per year getting their vehicle insured. The good news is that rates can vary a lot, allowing selective shoppers to save money. Concord offers average rates lower than $1,000 annually – about half the city’s overall average:
- State Farm
Worcester, the state’s second largest city, has much of the same charm as Boston. Beautiful historic buildings can be found throughout the city, as well as a wide variety of museums and recreational parks.
Auto insurance in Worcester isn’t quite as expensive as in Boston, but it’s still significantly above the state average, with people paying about $1,760 annually. However, much like Boston, these rates come with a lot of variability. The cheapest provider here, Liberty Mutual, offers plans at under $900 per year:
- Liberty Mutual
- Plymouth Rock
While there are several important cities in the US named Springfield, the one in Massachusetts is the oldest of them all. The state’s third largest city, it’s the urban and economic center of the state’s Connecticut River Valley – also known as the Pioneer Valley.
Auto insurance can be pricey here. With residents paying an average of over $1,930 per year, it ranks as the 7th most expensive place in the state to get insured, one spot ahead of Boston. Rates for almost half that can be had, however, with companies like Concord offering plans under $900:
- Liberty Mutual
Lowell is the fourth largest city in Massachusetts, and often considered one of the rougher areas of the state. In spite of this, the city has a lot to offer in the form of its historical parks and frequent live performances. Like all the cities on this list, its average auto insurance rates are higher than the state average at just under $1,700 annually. To maximize savings here, look into the following companies:
- Liberty Mutual
Probably best known as the home of some of universities like Harvard and MIT, Cambridge is a beautiful city. It also features the cheapest insurance rates of all the cities on this list, averaging only $1,523 per year, only slightly above the state average. These companies offer the best deals in Cambridge, led by GEICO:
- Liberty Mutual
- State Farm
Types of Auto Insurance Coverage in Massachusetts:
- Comprehensive Insurance Coverage
- Bodily Injury Liability Insurance
- Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Bodily Injury Insurance
- Uninsured Motorist Property Damage Insurance
- Property Damage Liability Insurance
New Driver License Requirements
In the state of Massachusetts, the Registry of Motor Vehicles offers information for new drivers who are applying for a state driver license. The state uses a Junior Operator’s License (JOL) program which lets new drivers practice their driving before they apply for a brand new license. In order to get a learner’s permit, drivers will need to be 16 years of age or older and have their legal guardian’s consent. An applicant for a driver’s license in Massachusetts must pass a vision test and a written test.
Cheap Auto Insurance Discounts
Car insurance discounts help you save money on the amount you pay on car insurance each year or each month. These discounts are provided by many different car insurance companies in Massachusetts and nationwide. Since many of the discounts aren’t made public to consumers, people often don’t know about them. At CheapAutoInsurance.co, we want to help you save as much as you can on your auto insurance rates. Browse the list below to see if you can use some of the discounts to help you save.
- Anti-theft discount
- Mature driver discount
- Military or Veteran discount
- Bundling insurance policies discount
- Senior citizen discount
- Car safety features discount
- Good student discount
- Defensive driving discount
- Low-mileage discount
- Multi-car auto insurance discount
- Infrequent usage discount
General Massachusetts Car Insurance
You’ve got to know the basics first. This section answers your general questions about Massachusetts car insurance works.
How to get car insurance in Massachusetts?
All you need to do to get car insurance in Massachusetts is to get car insurance quotes online or contact the company that has the best rates for your needs. You’ll need your driver’s license number, car VIN number, and some other information, and you’ll have car insurance in no time!
How are auto insurance premiums calculated in MA?
Each company calculates premiums differently. They use a combination of factors including age, driving history, car, address, gender, and more to set your premiums. Also look for the best auto insurance for military veterans.
How do points affect Massachusetts car insurance?
Points cause the cost of your car insurance to go up. They stay on your record for six years. Each surcharge point elevates the risk you pose to the insurance company.
How to decide on auto insurance coverage in Massachusetts?
The best way to decide on auto insurance coverage in Massachusetts is to use a price comparison tool. This allows you to make apples-to-apples comparisons of different auto insurance policies so you can find the best rate and coverage combination.
How to change auto insurance in MA?
You just need to call your new insurance company, sign up for a policy, and then call your old company and cancel. The Massachusetts Consumer Bill of Rights for Automobile Insurance gives you the right to change your policy at any time.
What information do I need to buy auto insurance in MA?
You’ll need your driver’s license number, VIN of the car that you’re insuring, and the address the car will normally be stored at. Learn more: What do I need to insure my car?
What is option 2 in Massachusetts auto insurance?
Option 2 means auto liability insurance with limited collision and comprehensive coverage. However, MA doesn’t use this phrasing any more. If you want to get coverage right now then compare cheap online auto insurance through our form.
Auto insurance in Massachusetts, what is risk type 1?
There’s no state mandated category for risk types in Massachusetts auto insurance. This probably refers to an internal distinction your company makes.
What tickets go to your car insurance in MA?
Any ticket that is considered a moving violation will add surcharge points to your driving record in Massachusetts. Points are also added based on how frequently you get offenses.
What happens when I change auto insurance companies in Massachusetts?
The auto insurance company will report your policy to the state so they have updated information regarding your proof of insurance. You’ll need to cancel your old policy. Learn more about how to change car insurance companies.
What is considered full coverage auto insurance Massachusetts?
Massachusetts has a series of requirements and limits insurance must meet to be considered full coverage. These are: $20k per person/ $40k per accident for bodily injury to others, $8,000 of personal injury protection per person, per accident, Bodily Injury caused by an uninsured auto at $20,000 per person up to $40,000 per accident, and property damage liability for $5,000 per accident. Get a quote with our form above to find affordable full coverage car insurance.
Massachusetts Car Insurance Laws
Every state gets to make its own laws about car insurance. We’ll help you understand Massachusetts car insurance laws in this section.
What is the minimum car insurance coverage in Massachusetts?
Minimum liability coverage in Massachusetts is 20/40/5 – that means $20,000 for bodily injury per person, $40,000 for bodily injury per accident, and $5,000 for property damage liability coverage. If you’re shopping for liability only auto insurance then enter your zip code above to get started.
How old do you have to be to get insurance on a car in Massachusetts?
There’s no legal age minimum for car insurance in Massachusetts. However, most insurance companies won’t do business with anyone under the age of 16.
How do I cancel my Massachusetts auto insurance I moved?
First you need to let your company know you want to end the policy. They’ll explain the steps you need to take. Don’t forget to ask for a refund for the time on your coverage you haven’t used.
When you lease a car in Massachusetts do you need insurance?
Yes, you need at least state minimum insurance. Additionally, the company you’re leasing from may have other insurance requirements as part of the lease agreement.
What is the minimum car insurance coverage in Massachusetts with a financed vehicle?
There’s no difference in Massachusetts between required insurance for a financed vehicle and standard minimum insurance. However, your auto lender may put additional coverage requirements as part of your loan agreement.
What are Massachusetts car insurance requirements?
Car insurance in Massachusetts needs to provide $20,000 for bodily injury to others, up to $40,000 per accident. It also needs to offer at least $5,000 in property damage liability. Some people opt for cheap liability only insurance to keep costs low.
What are car insurance requirements to drive for Uber in Massachusetts?
You need to use Uber’s Rideshare Liability Insurance, which covers at 50k/100k/25k when you’re on the clock. When you’re en route or on trip you use Uber’s $1 million liability insurance and their collision and comprehensive rideshare car insurance for actual cash value with a $1,000 deductible.
What happens if your car insurance is cancelled MA?
You won’t be able to legally drive in MA until you get new car insurance. You’ll get a notice that you need to present proof of insurance or have your registration suspended. Finally, you face a fine and other penalties if you’re caught driving without insurance.
What happens if I get caught without car insurance in MA?
Driving without insurance is considered a civil motor vehicle infraction that can result in a fine of up to $5,000 and one year in jail. If you need coverage fast then there are cheap instant car insurance options available.
In Massachusetts, who must obtain auto insurance for a vehicle?
The owner of a vehicle must have insurance in order to legally register the vehicle in their name. This holds true even if the owner isn’t the primary driver. You can get coverage online or by working with local auto insurance brokers.
When to add your new driver to car insurance in Massachusetts?
You should add a new driver to your car insurance as soon as they get their driver’s license. That way you can be sure they’re protected no matter what.
Massachusetts Car Insurance Prices
This section answers your questions about the prices for car insurance in different situations for Massachusetts residents.
Why is Massachusetts car insurance so expensive?
Car insurance prices are going up all over the country. A combination of health care costs, costs of repairs, and other factors influence the cost of insurance in Massachusetts.
How much is car insurance in MA?
On average, drivers in Massachusetts will pay about $1,058 per year for car insurance. This is lower than the national average of $1,503 per year. Look for discounts such as car insurance for senior citizen drivers.
How much is car insurance in MA for new drivers?
Drivers between the ages of 16 and 19 will pay an average of $4,210 per year for car insurance, which is about $700 less than the national average for this age category. Also see the insurance no drivers license topic.
What is the cheapest car insurance in Massachusetts?
Generally, Plymouth Rock offers the cheapest car insurance in Massachusetts. Hanover Insurance Group, Metlife, and Safety Insurance also rank well for cost. We consider ourselves to be the best car insurance comparison site to help you decide on which of these companies to go with. Start our form above. Learn more about what car insurance is the cheapest.
How much does car insurance cost in Massachusetts?
On average, drivers in Massachusetts will pay about $1,058 per year for car insurance. This could be higher or lower depending on your particular situation. Compare the average monthly cost of car insurance to other states.
What is the best auto insurance company in Massachusetts?
For many people the answer is Plymouth Rock. They have the lowest rates for good drivers, those with one at fault crash, low mileage drivers, and drivers with poor credit. Typing auto insurance companies near me in a search engine will bring up a number of results too.
How long do surcharges last on my car insurance in MA?
Surcharge points generally stay on your car insurance for 5 years in MA. However, your points may last longer depending on the particular offense.
In Massachusetts, how long for insurance rates to decrease after car accident?
It will take at least 3 years for your surcharge points to go down after an accident in Massachusetts. You can speed up the process by filing a special appeal with the state.
How much is car insurance per month in MA?
Who has the least expensive auto insurance in Massachusetts?
For most people, Plymouth Rock has the cheapest auto insurance rates in the state. However, you should shop around, as your particular situation might be different. Ask them if they offer low deposit car insurance. Also the best classic car insurance companies offer some of the cheapest insurance if you qualify.
How much of saving on auto insurance do you get for drivers education class in Massachusetts?
That depends on your specific insurance company. Most companies offer a discount of up to 10% if you successfully complete a driving safety course.
What is mileage discount on Massachusetts auto insurance?
Generally, companies consider you to be a low mileage driver if your annual driving falls between 7,500 and 15,000 miles per year. Each company sets their own discount rates and terms. Learn more about what auto insurance discount offers different companies have.
How much will one at fault accident with damage only to my car increase my insurance in MA?
That depends on a series of factors. Generally, drivers in Massachusetts found their insurance prices went up about 1.48 times after an accident.
How much is car insurance in MA for teens?
Teen drivers in Massachusetts will pay an average of $4.210 for car insurance if they’re on their own policy and not on their parent’s policy. The way most people find cheap car insurance for teen drivers is by comparing multiple quotes.
How much is the car insurance surcharge in Massachusetts for a traffic ticket?
That depends on the ticket. Different violations have a different number of surcharge points. This is also affected by how many other violations you’ve had and how frequently you’ve had them.
At what age in Massachusetts does car insurance drop?
The three biggest drops in car insurance by age for Massachusetts occur at 20, 25, and 30. Each of these ages comes with a substantial decline in car insurance rates for an average driver. Related: Find me cheap car insurance.
How to calculate insurance on new motorcycle in Massachusetts?
The best way to calculate insurance on a new motorcycle is to use the online tools provided by various insurance companies. An online motorcycle insurance calculator would be helpful in this case.
Massachusetts Car Insurance Claims and Coverage
It’s vital to understand how your insurance works when you need it. This section will answer questions about Massachusetts car insurance claims and coverage.
What does high risk auto insurance cover in MA?
State minimum insurance covers bodily injury to others, personal injury, bodily injury by an uninsured motorist, and property damage.
What counts as an occasional driver for auto insurance in MA?
Different insurance companies might have different policies regarding occasional drivers, but it’s usually considered to be someone who drives the car less than 50% of the time.
How long do you have to report a car accident to your insurance company in MA?
Every company has different policies on reporting requirements. Massachusetts law allows insurance companies 30 days to investigate an accident before making a determination on fault or filing a lawsuit. Related: Can you insure a car with a salvage title?
In Massachusetts what does at 50 percent fault mean in auto insurance?
This means that both drivers are equally responsible. As a result, your insurance company will have to negotiate a settlement with the other driver’s insurance company.
What happens if you get in a car accident with no insurance in Massachusetts?
You’ll be liable for any at-fault damages. You’ll also face a fine, suspension of your registration, and other possible penalties.
In MA, what is property damage on car insurance?
The property damage minimum limit is $5,000. It covers damage to other cars, buildings, landscaping, and so on in the event of a car accident.
How long does it take for insurance to pay out for car accident in Massachusetts?
Insurance companies have 30 days from the time of filing to investigate an accident and make a determination. The payout process doesn’t have a fixed timeframe.
Does Massachusetts auto insurance cover people not named on policy who drive the vehicle?
Sometimes – if they’re borrowing the car with your permission and don’t usually drive the car, then your insurance might cover them. You’ll need to check your specific policy to be sure.
Other Massachusetts Car Insurance Questions
Our final section covers questions that don’t fit into our other categories.
How to cancel registration and insurance for a car sold to junk yard in Massachusetts?
The easiest way is to cancel your registration online. You’ll need your vehicle registration and license plate number, email address, and either your driver’s license number, social security number, or FID. Once you do this, you’ll get a registration cancellation receipt which you can use to cancel your insurance.
What MA car insurance allows spouse exemptions?
Practically any insurance company will allow you to exempt someone from coverage. You can do this to save money on insurance if your spouse’s driving record is much worse than yours.
In Massachusetts, once car insurance canceled how long till registration is suspended?
You’ll have 20 days to pay your car insurance bill before it’s canceled. Once that happens you have 30 days to provide proof of insurance to the state before your registration is suspended.
How to file a complaint against a car insurance company in MA?
The Massachusetts Division of Insurance handles complaints against car insurance companies. You can file your complaint online with them.
Cheap Car Insurance Near Me in Massachusetts
How Helpful was this Article?
Please Rate this Article
You must be logged in to submit a review.