Cheapest Car Insurance Rates for July 2021
Get a Quick Quote
Cheap Auto Insurance in Mississippi: Best Companies & Quotes
Best Car Insurance Companies in Mississippi
- Mississippi Farm Bureau
- State Farm
|Mississippi Farm Bureau||State Farm||Nationwide||USAA||Progressive||Shelter|
|AM Best Financial Strength Rating||A||A++||A+||A++||A+||A++|
|JD Power 2019 Overall Customer Satisfaction score||N/A||3/5||2/5||5/5||3/5||N/A|
|Avg Annual Premium||$511||$540||$693||$267||$1,094||$1,199|
|Consumer Reports Reader Score||90||78||N/A||90||75||75|
|BBB Rating||Not Rated||A+||A+||Not Rated||A+||A+|
Auto Insurance Statistics in Mississippi
Mississippi is one of the states with auto insurance rates that have remained under the national average. Drivers looking for affordable car insurance rates can benefit from learning how Mississippi ranks in the cost of car insurance when compared with other states nationwide.
Top 10 Cheapest Car Insurance Companies in Mississippi
|Rank||Company Name||Avg. Annual Premium|
|7||Mississippi Farm Bureau||$1,396|
Drunk Driving Fatalities
Drinking and driving is a dangerous practice that often proves fatal. When obtaining car insurance in Mississippi, it is helpful to understand the rate of drunk driving fatalities in the state of Mississippi. The National Highway Traffic Safety Administration has done a tally of the number of drunk driving fatalities in Mississippi vs. nationwide.
Drunk driving fatalities in Mississippi from 2013 to 2017
Teen Drinking and Driving
Teen drinking and driving in Mississippi has been higher than the national average for quite some time. This data shows that more teens in the state are driving while under the influence when compared with the rate of teens drinking and driving across the country. The below statistics compare the percentage of Mississippi drivers that are teenagers who are drinking and driving to national averages.
Teen Drinking & Driving in Mississippi vs. Nationwide (2017)
Source: Center For Disease Control
SR-22 Insurance in Mississippi
As with most states in the country, Mississippi is a state that requires many drivers to file SR-22 insurance policies with the local DMV. If you have had your license revoked or suspended because of driving infractions, there’s a good chance you will need this type of insurance before you can drive again. It provides a certificate that shows you have direct access to the minimum insurance coverage required by the states.
In Mississippi, SR-22 insurance requirements are quite high when you compare coverage levels to other states. You will need $50,000 of liability coverage per accident, $25,000 of liability coverage per person, and $25,000 of coverage for property damage.
Car Theft in Mississippi
Learning about the level of car theft in Mississippi will give car insurance buyers an idea as to how many car thefts occur. Comprehensive car insurance coverage can help a driver who has become a victim of automobile theft.
Vehicle thefts by rank nationwide vs. Mississippi
Uninsured Motorists in Mississippi
There are drivers that operate motor vehicles in Mississippi who don’t carry auto insurance coverage. In the event that an accident occurs with an uninsured driver, it is beneficial to have uninsured and underinsured motorist coverage. The below data shows how well Mississippi ranks in the total number of reported uninsured motorists in the state in the year 2015.
Percentage of uninsured drivers (Top States in 2015)
Source: Insurance Information Institute
What’s most important for you in an auto insurance policy in Mississippi is not what’s important to your neighbor. Some people are only interested in paying the bare minimum and have no desire to carry the best type of insurance. Others are willing to pay whatever it takes to insure their vehicle in case of an emergency. Others fall somewhere in the middle. They want the best coverage, but they want the best price for that coverage. In Mississippi, there’s no shortage of car insurance companies willing to work with you to provide the best rates for the best policies. The problem is knowing what to expect and what you’ll pay. So many factors go into deciding how much your insurance will cost, it’s almost impossible to determine what you might pay compared to someone else.
Mississippi insurance rates are average compared to other states, coming in around $1,600 per month. Some pay more, some pay less, and some pay right around that each year. If you are looking for a policy that’s more affordable, you’re not alone in your quest. Here’s how to find the best rate, how to ask for a discount, and how to understand how insurance companies look at your life to determine your rates.
What You Can Change
If you want the best possible rates for your insurance, you need to make some life changes. The best rates are given to people who meet the following requirements:
- Drive new cars
- Drive larger cars
- Drive cars with smaller engines
- Married couples
- People with good credit
- People with a good driving history
While you might not be able to change any or all of these, you can handle a few. Your driving history will haunt you forever, but you can start improving it right now by following the laws and rules of the road. Your credit can be fixed over time by making on-time payments, paying down your debts, and by ensuring you’re doing what you need to do to keep your finances in order. You shouldn’t get married to get better insurance rates but if you’re planning on getting married soon, you can call and let your insurance company know for a better rate.
It’s also helpful to drive a newer car. Big cars are safer, but big engines are very expensive to insure. You’ll also get a better rate if you’re a young woman or an older man. They’re statistically less likely to cause or become involved in accidents while on the road. You might also check to see if your particular vehicle is located on the list of most stolen vehicles for the year. if it is, you’re paying a much higher rate for insurance premiums.
If you live where your job is located, you will pay less. If you live far away and commute a long distance to and from work, your rates will go up. It’s not safe to be on the road more than you must, and insurance companies use that to determine your rates. It also helps to live in a safe and affluent community where the crime rates are low. Living in an area where the economy struggles means more people are living without their own insurance, which means you pay more. Your car is at a greater risk of being damaged, vandalized, stolen, and broken into.
Checking for Better Rates
Mississippi residents can typically count on Unitrin, Alfa, State Farm, Mississippi Farm Bureau, and Mississippi Average to provide the best rates for insurance. While not everyone finds the best rates here, it’s a good bet you’ll find better rates here than anywhere else.
It’s also helpful to inform your insurance company if you have any safety features on your car that are discount-worthy, if you have a professional membership that offers a discount. Compare rates with at least three companies to find the best rates. You might not pay as little as others, but you do have a chance of finding a lower rate. It’s also helpful to call and ask for a discount from your current insurance company simply because you’re a good customer.
Types of Auto Insurance Coverage in Mississippi:
- Comprehensive Insurance Coverage
- Bodily Injury Liability Insurance
- Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Bodily Injury Insurance
- Uninsured Motorist Property Damage Insurance
- Property Damage Liability Insurance
Minimum Requirements For Car Insurance in Mississippi
There are minimum requirements for car insurance in the state of Mississippi. According to The Mississippi Insurance Department, it is mandatory to have liability coverage for every registered driver who is operating a vehicle in the state.
Liability Coverage minimums for the state of Mississippi:
- $25,000 per single bodily injury or death
- $50,000 per multiple bodily injury or deaths
- $25,000 for property damage
If a driver neglects to maintain the right insurance as well as provide proof of insurance, they risk license suspension as well as a $1,000 fine.
Source: Mississippi Insurance Department
Cheap Auto Insurance Discounts
Car insurance discounts are offered by many of the cheapest car insurance companies in Mississippi and nationwide. Auto insurance discounts make it possible to save even more on your car insurance premiums each year and each month. However, typically, these discounts aren’t advertised so consumers don’t get a chance to take advantage of them. At CheapAutoInsurance.co, our goal is to make sure that you can get the lowest possible rate on your auto insurance coverage. Browse the list of car insurance discounts below for even more savings.
- Anti-theft discount
- Mature driver discount
- Military or Veteran discount
- Bundling insurance policies discount
- Senior citizen discount
- Car safety features discount
- Good student discount
- Defensive driving discount
- Low-mileage discount
- Multi-car auto insurance discount
- Infrequent usage discount
General Mississippi Car Insurance
This section covers your basic questions about car insurance in Mississippi. Use this information to make informed decisions about your auto coverage.
How does car insurance work in Mississippi?
Every driver in MS must have car insurance. They need to maintain the insurance and carry proof of insurance in their car at all times. The liability insurance must meet state minimums.
Which car insurance companies do business in the state of Mississippi?
Tons of car insurance companies do business in Mississippi. Some of the most popular are Allstate, GEICO, Mountain Laurel, Nationwide, Progressive Gulf, and State Farm. You may want to check out Safe Auto insurance quotes too.
Who is required to have auto insurance in MS?
Any driver or car is required to have auto insurance in MS. In fact, a car needs to be insured before it can be legally registered. Related: How can I get cheap car insurance?
What does auto insurance cover in MS?
Auto insurance in MS must, at a minimum, cover up to $25,000 per person up to $50,000 per accident for bodily injury and $25,000 for property damage.
How do points affect Mississippi car insurance?
Points will cause the cost of your insurance to go up. The amount it goes up depends on your past driving history, the nature of your violations, and other factors. If points get too high then you may have to find high risk driver insurance.
How to get car insurance in Mississippi?
The easiest way to get car insurance in Mississippi is to use an internet car insurance price comparison tool and compare auto insurance quotes. This will tell you what various companies will charge you for coverage and provide a link where you can sign up for coverage.
What happens when I change auto insurance companies in Mississippi?
Your new insurance company will notify the state that they have your insurance coverage now, and the old insurance company will tell the state they are no longer covering you. This will update your information in the state’s insurance database. Remember you can also do online car insurance renewal with your current company if you decide to stay with them.
Mississippi Car Insurance Laws
We’ll answer your questions about Mississippi car insurance laws in this section.
When did Mississippi require car insurance?
Mississippi was part of the second wave of states to make car insurance mandatory. The original law was enacted in the 1970’s and was updated in 2006.
What insurance is required on a paid off car in Mississippi?
A paid off car in Mississippi requires the same state minimum liability insurance as any other car. That means 25/50/25 protection.
How much car insurance do I need in Mississippi?
You’ll need the state legal minimum at the very least. That’s $25,000 for bodily injury per person, up to $50,000 per accident, and $25,000 for property damage. How much car insurance cost you can handle will depend on your specific finances and how much coverage you need beyond the minimum.
What is minimum auto insurance coverage in Mississippi?
The minimum auto insurance coverage in Mississippi is 25/50/25. That translates to $25,000 per person, up to $50,000 per accident, for bodily injury protection, and $25,000 for property damage liability.
How do I handle car insurance in Mississippi when car is in storage?
You can avoid the need to get car insurance while your car is in storage if you turn in your tags to the state DMV. This means you will not be allowed to legally drive on MS roads in that car.
What type of car insurance is required in Mississippi?
Mississippi requires liability coverage with minimum limits of $25,000 in bodily injury protection per person $50,000 in bodily injury protection per accident, and $25,000 in property damage liability coverage.
What is full coverage auto insurance in Mississippi?
In MS, full coverage is considered to be state legal minimum coverage. That means a policy that offers $25,000 for bodily injury per person, up to $50,000 per accident, and $25,000 for property damage. Learn more: What is considered full coverage auto insurance?
Do you have 30 days from when you purchase a car to get tag and insurance Mississippi?
No, you need to be insured any time you’re driving a car in MS. When you get a new car, your insurance company will usually cover it for 4-9 days until you officially change insurance to that car. A lot of people try to get month to month car insurance until they’re ready to commit to a longer term policy.
What is the car insurance grace period in the state of Mississippi?
There is no car insurance grace period in the state of Mississippi. You need to meet state minimum liability coverage any time you’re driving a car.
What is the state liability limit for car insurance in Mississippi?
The state liability limit for car insurance in Mississippi is $25,000 for bodily injury protection per person, going up to $50,000 per accident. You also need to obtain $25,000 in property damage liability coverage. Compare cheap liability insurance quotes to get the best rates.
How long in Mississippi do you legally have to get insurance on a new car?
That depends on your current insurance policy. Most insurance companies give you 4-9 days where they cover your new car the same as your old car. See if they offer 7 day auto insurance for example. After that, you’ll need to get a policy specific to your new car.
What is the lowest requirement for car insurance in Mississippi?
The lowest requirements for car insurance in Mississippi is 25/50/25. That means $25,000 for property damage liability, $25,000 for bodily injury per person, up to $50,000 for bodily injury per accident.
Are you required to have auto insurance in Mississippi when you obtain your driver's license?
How to be exempt from MS car insurance law?
You can avoid paying for car insurance in MS if you deposit cash or securities equal to the minimum required coverage or post a bond for the minimum required amounts with the state department of revenue.
What happens if you don't have car insurance in Mississippi?
The penalty for failing to maintain insurance is a $1,000 fine and the suspension of driving privileges for one year or until you can show proof of insurance. You’ll want to get coverage online through our form above or go with a car insurance local broker if you prefer.
What tickets go to your car insurance in MS?
The type of tickets that are reported to car insurance companies in MS are moving violations. This includes things like speeding, improper backing, reckless driving, and so on.
How old do you have to be to get insurance on a car in Mississippi?
There are no state laws about how old you have to be to get car insurance in Mississippi, but generally insurance companies will not work with someone who is less than the legal driving age. See what the average car insurance for 18 year old drivers is.
When you lease a car in Mississippi do you need insurance?
Yes, you need at least the legal minimum insurance when you lease a car in Mississippi. You may also be required to obtain additional insurance by the terms of your lease agreement.
What happens if I get caught without car insurance in MS?
If you get caught without car insurance in MS then you’ll face a fine of up to $1,000 and can have your driving privileges suspended for a year or until you show proof of insurance.
Mississippi Car Insurance Prices
This section has the answers you’ve been looking for related to Mississippi car insurance prices.
Who has the cheapest car insurance in Mississippi?
That depends what you’re looking for. State Farm has the best rates for most people, including those looking for minimum coverage, those with a clean driving record, and low mileage drivers. ALFA has the best rates for people with poor credit. Ask if they can waive the car insurance down payment so you can save money that way too.
Why does Mississippi car insurance keep going up?
The cost of car insurance has been increasing across the country. This has to do with the higher costs for car repairs and higher medical costs across the country. See who has the cheapest car insurance rates in the nation.
What is the average price of car insurance in Mississippi?
The average annual price of car insurance in Mississippi is $827.31, which is a good bit less than the national average of $889.01. Looking at car insurance comparison charts can help you see the cheapest rates for your area.
What kind of car has the cheapest insurance in Mississippi?
How are auto insurance premiums calculated in MS?
Every car insurance company has their own method of calculating premiums. They make these assessments based on multiple factors that tell the insurance company what they need to charge you to have the best chance of making a profit while protecting themselves from financial loss. You may also be able to find cheap car insurance for seniors if that describes you.
What is mileage discount on Mississippi auto insurance?
Some insurance companies offer a discount on your driving if you drive below a certain number of miles per year. This can be a great way to save money on insurance if you qualify. Ask about getting a veteran car insurance discount if you qualify.
At what age in Mississippi does high risk car insurance drop?
The three biggest drops in car insurance by age for Mississippi occur at 20, 25, and 30. Each of these ages comes with a substantial decline in car insurance rates for an average driver.
Why is Mississippi car insurance so expensive?
Car insurance prices have been going up across the country. There are many reasons for this. Most of them involve the increased cost of health care, the cost of car repairs, and the cost of doing business in multiple states.
Is Mississippi car insurance cheaper than Florida?
Depending on a number of factors including what type of insurance policy you get this can vary a lot but Mississippi is generally cheaper than Florida. However if you compare a sr22 insurance Florida policy to Mississippi this may be different though and is difficult to say here without knowing all your details.
How to lower motorcycle insurance in Mississippi?
There are lots of ways to lower the cost of your motorcycle insurance. Look for driver training courses and bundling discounts to get the best savings. Also do a thorough motorcycle insurance comparison with multiple companies to see who has the lowest rates.
Mississippi Car Insurance Claims and Coverage
We’ll answer questions about Mississippi car insurance claims and coverage.
What happens in Mississippi if you have no auto insurance and get in accident?
If you get into an accident with no insurance in Mississippi then you’ll be personally liable for any damages you’re at fault for. You could also face civil and criminal penalties in addition to your damages.
How long before insurance pays on stolen car in Mississippi?
There’s no set timeframe for how long an insurance company takes to pay on a stolen car in Mississippi. The company will want to investigate and see if they can get the car back first, as this costs less than replacing the car.
What to expect when filing an auto insurance claim in Mississippi?
You should expect questions about the incident, what you were doing, where you were going, and you should expect to be asked to provide a detailed description of the situation that lead to your claim.
When in a car accident can you collect medical payments from both insurance companies MS?
Sometimes. If the damages from the accident go over the limit the other driver has, then your insurance might have an underinsured clause that covers the rest of your damages.
How long should an insurance company provide a rental car after totaled Mississippi?
There’s no state law about an insurance company providing a rental car in Mississippi. Each insurance agreement will have its own terms that govern if and for how long you get a rental car.
In MS, what is property damage on car insurance?
Property damage is the damage to other cars or physical property in an accident. The limit next to the property damage number on your car insurance shows how much your insurance will pay for these claims.
How long do you have to report a car accident to your insurance company in MS?
The state doesn’t have any laws that say when you must report an accident to your insurance company. However, your specific insurance policy may have requirements about reporting. It’s always best to report an accident as son as possible. Related: How to get insurance for salvage title.
Other Mississippi Car Insurance Questions
This section has the answers to questions that don’t fit into our other categories.
What percentage of MS drivers don't have auto insurance?
About one in eight or 13.0% of motorists are uninsured in MS according to a 2017 survey by the Insurance Research Council.
How long does it take for insurance to report car electronically to MS?
Insurance companies report car insurance electronically to MS pretty much instantly. This allows the state to maintain a record of who does and doesn’t have insurance.
What MS car insurance allows spouse exemptions?
Most MS car insurance companies will allow you to put a spouse exemption on your policy. Just be sure that your spouse doesn’t ever drive your car when they’re exempt.
How to file a complaint against a car insurance company in MS?
The best place to go if you have a complaint against a car insurance company in MS is to the Mississippi Insurance Department. They have the resources to follow up on your complaint.
In Mississippi, who must obtain auto insurance for a vehicle?
Generally, the owner is in charge of obtaining auto insurance for a vehicle. However, the owner doesn’t have to have the policy in their name.
Cheap Car Insurance Near Me in Mississippi
How Helpful was this Article?
Please Rate this Article
You must be logged in to submit a review.