Cheapest Car Insurance Rates for July 2021
Get a Quick Quote
Cheap Auto Insurance in New Hampshire: Best Companies & Quotes
Best Car Insurance Companies in New Hampshire
- State Farm
- Concord Group
|Geico||State Farm||Concord Group||Progressive||Amica||Metropolitan|
|AM Best Financial Strength Rating||A++||A++||A+||A+||A+||A|
|JD Power 2019 Overall Customer Satisfaction score||3/5||3/5||N/A||3/5||5/5||3/5|
|Avg Annual Premium||$379||$458||$503||$593||$901||$931|
|Consumer Reports Reader Score||78||78||N/A||75||89||N/A|
|BBB Rating||A+||A+||A+||A+||A+||Not Rated|
Auto Insurance Statistics in New Hampshire
Auto insurance rates in New Hampshire have stabilized at a rate below the national average.
Top 10 Cheapest Car Insurance Companies in New Hampshire
|Rank||Company Name||Avg. Annual Premium|
|4||Commerce Group Inc||$1,017|
Drunk Driving Fatalities
Drinking and driving results in fatalities. This dangerous practice continues to occur all across the country. When obtaining car insurance, it is helpful to understand the rate of drunk driving fatalities in the state of New Hampshire. The National Highway Traffic Safety Administration has done a tally of the number of drunk driving fatalities in New Hampshire vs. nationwide.
Drunk driving fatalities in New Hampshire from 2013 to 2017
Teen Drinking and Driving
Teen drinking and driving in New Hampshire is at a rate that is very high and is in fact, much higher than the national average. To combat this practice, teachers and parents need to stress the dangers of drinking and driving to teens. The below statistics compare the percentage of New Hampshire drivers that are teenagers who are drinking and driving in relation to national averages.
Teen Drinking & Driving in New Hampshire vs. Nationwide
Source: Center For Disease Control
SR-22 Insurance in New Hampshire
In New Hampshire, you will often be required to prove you have the financial capacity to pay for an accident if you have a previous driving infraction on your record. An SR-22 policy is proof that you meet the state’s bare minimum for insurance coverage — the length that you have to file an SR-22 form as proof of insurance will depend no your particular circumstances.
Unlike other states, New Hampshire’s SR-22 laws are very subjective. If you want to relieve yourself of needing to file this type of insurance, you can contact the ‘Bureau of Financial Responsibility’ and request for your case to be re-examined. Either way, it’s important to shop around for SR-22 policies before you make any firm decisions — it can get expensive if you don’t compare the market.
Car Theft in New Hampshire
Learning about the level of car theft in New Hampshire can help car owners to stay better protected. It will also give car insurance buyers an idea as to how many car thefts occur. Comprehensive car insurance coverage is the best option for drivers who want to protect against automobile theft.
Vehicle thefts by rank nationwide vs. New Hampshire
Uninsured Motorists in New Hampshire
There are drivers that operate motor vehicles in New Hampshire without sufficient auto insurance coverage. When a car accident such as a head on collision occurs with an uninsured driver, it is beneficial to have uninsured and underinsured motorist coverage. The below data shows how well New Hampshire ranks in the total number of reported uninsured motorists in the state in the year 2015.
Percentage of uninsured drivers (Top States in 2015)
Source: Insurance Information Institute
The average cost of auto insurance in New Hampshire is not the highest or lowest in the nation at $1,208. It’s a reasonable cost for those who want to drive their personal vehicles on a regular basis, but it’s not something you’ll pay too much for. There are many insurance companies in the state that offer lower rates. Concord, Patriot Insurance, Geico, Vermont Mutual, and Commerce Insurance all over rates below the average amount most people pay, but not everyone can get a low rate like this in New Hampshire. If you aren’t sure why you pay more than the average rate for insurance when you’d love to find cheap auto insurance in New Hampshire, it’s time to educate yourself on what dictates how much insurers charge you for auto insurance premiums.
The Type of Vehicle You Drive
If you want to pay the cheapest rates for car insurance, you must have the best car to insure. The general rule of thumb dictates that vehicles with the highest safety ratings and the newest model years are the least expensive to insure. The newer your vehicle is the less it costs to insure due to the number of parts available and the ease with which the car can be repaired. Larger vehicles such as minivans vans SUVs are also less expensive to insure because you’re less likely to suffer such serious injuries in these vehicles. That changes if you have a larger engine in your vehicle, however. Tell your insurance company anytime you buy a new car with additional safety features and driver’s assistance programs that might lower the cost of your insurance.
The Kind of Credit Score You Have
Insurance companies take a large risk in insuring people. They want to know who they are insuring, and what kind of person you are when you apply for a policy with them. It’s illegal to deny you an insurance policy based on the type of credit score you have, but you will pay a much higher rate if your credit score is lower. If you have time to get your score up, try that before you go applying for new insurance policies. You can spend a few months making only on-time payments, and you can call the credit bureaus to dispute any mistakes you find on your credit report. If you have any rise in your score at all, you can get a better rate.
Your Personal Life
Your age, sex, and your marital status are all factors used to determine how much you’ll pay for insurance. If you are a young woman, an older man, or a married person, you’re less expensive to insure. You also have to consider where you live. If the neighborhood in which you live is not considered safe or the economic status of the area isn’t the best, you’re going to pay more. Your car is more likely to be stolen or damaged in a vandalism case, and many of the people in low-economic neighborhoods don’t pay for their own insurance policies. This means you’ll pay more to make up for their lack of insurance It’s not fair, but it’s the law. If you commute far to work, you’ll also pay more for insurance.
There are ways to drop the price of your premium no matter what you drive or how bad your credit score is. If you are a member of a professional organization such as AAA that offers discounts for insurance policies, you can do that. If you have an insurance company you’ve worked with for many years with a great history of making on-time payments and not filing claims, you can always call and let them know you want to see about a lower rate or you’ll have to start looking for the best car insurance company.
It’s possible for New Hampshire residents to pay less for their insurance, but it’s not always as simple as applying for a new policy. Be careful not to abandon your existing company until you know you have a better rate elsewhere. Your current policy might be your best bet if you can negotiate with the company.
Types of Auto Insurance Coverage in New Hampshire:
- Comprehensive Insurance Coverage
- Bodily Injury Liability Insurance
- Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Bodily Injury Insurance
- Uninsured Motorist Property Damage Insurance
- Property Damage Liability Insurance
Minimum Requirements For Car Insurance in New Hampshire
There are minimum requirements for car insurance in the state of New Hampshire. According to The New Hampshire DMV, it is mandatory to have liability coverage as well as medical payments coverage and uninsured motorist coverage for every registered driver who is operating a vehicle in the state.
Liability Coverage minimums for the state of New Hampshire:
$25,000 for bodily injury, per person
$25,000 for property damage
$50,000 for bodily injury, when the collision involves multiple parties
Medical Payment Coverage of $1,000 for policyholder’s medical costs.
Uninsured Motorist Coverage minimum must match liability coverage.
New Hampshire state law does not mandate auto insurance coverage, however, if an accident results in the driver being the at fault party, state law requires that a payment for bodily injury and property damage be remitted.
Source: New Hampshire DMV
Cheap Auto Insurance Discounts
Cheap car insurance quotes in New Hampshire are provided to drivers who meet specific criteria. There are many discounts available, however, drivers often don’t know about them in order to take advantage of them. When it comes to saving money on the cost of car insurance, discounts can prove to be invaluable. Below are some of the most common discounts available to drivers in the state of New Hampshire.
- Anti-theft discount
- Mature driver discount
- Military or Veteran discount
- Bundling insurance policies discount
- Senior citizen discount
- Car safety features discount
- Good student discount
- Defensive driving discount
- Low-mileage discount
- Multi-car auto insurance discount
- Infrequent usage discount
General Auto Insurance in New Hampshire
This frequently asked questions section covers all aspects of general auto insurance in the state of New Hampshire.
Why does New Hampshire not require auto insurance?
The reason why New Hampshire does not require auto insurance is because state officials believe people living in the state should have their own freedom and choices, including the choice of whether or not to insure their vehicle.
How to cancel car insurance in New Hampshire?
The best way to cancel insurance in New Hampshire is to call the insurance company the car is insured with directly and cancel by talking to the car insurance representative. Keep in mind, cancelation fees may be part of the cancelling process depending on the insurance company.
Do I need car insurance when I buy a car in New Hampshire?
No. New Hampshire currently does not have a mandatory state insurance law that requires drivers to insurance their vehicles. However, even if you purchase a new car in New Hampshire, you will need to make sure you can cover costs of bodily injury or property damage in the case you get into an accident with your new car. If you don’t think you can cover that then you can always get auto insurance online by entering your zip code above.
What are the New Hampshire auto insurance laws when buying a car?
Currently, New Hampshire does not have any mandatory auto insurance laws when buying a car. Drivers are able to drive on the road without the need of purchasing auto insurance beforehand.
Do you need to have car insurance when you are a student driver in New Hampshire?
No. As a student driver, you do not need to have car insurance in New Hampshire. However, you will need to make sure you or your parents have the money necessary to cover bodily injury or property damages in the case of an accident that you cause. If you are a foreign student traveling then look at one day car insurance USA carriers offer.
How to remove a driver from your auto insurance in New Hampshire?
The best way to remove a driver from your auto insurance in New Hampshire is to contact your insurance company directly via its toll-free number or online app. Talk with a customer service representative directly for the best results.
In New Hampshire, how long do I have to add another car to my auto insurance policy?
Typically, you will have between 7 to 30 days to add another car to your auto insurance policy in New Hampshire. Check with your insurance company for their own grace periods for adding cars onto their policy.
Do you need car insurance if you own the vehicle when you pick it up from the dealership in New Hampshire?
No. You do not need car insurance if you own the vehicle when you pick it up from the dealership in New Hampshire if you don’t want to. Since New Hampshire doesn’t have any mandatory insurance laws, you can choose whether or not to add insurance to your vehicle.
What is the best auto insurance in New Hampshire?
The best auto insurance in New Hampshire is Concord Group Insurance. This type of insurance company is perfect for good drivers with good credit and has a yearly premium of $735 for basic liability coverage. Do an auto insurance quote comparison online to find the best rates. If this is concerning a classic car then you will want to look at the best collector car insurance reviews instead.
How to choose an auto repair facility for an insurance claim in New Hampshire?
The best way to choose an auto repair facility for an insurance claims in New Hampshire is to call your insurance company and see what auto repair facilities they recommend. Keep in mind, you don’t have to use their recommendations, however these facilities will offer lower labor and material costs.
How many people in New Hampshire have auto insurance?
It is estimated that about 90.1% of all drivers in New Hampshire currently have auto insurance. However, with that in mind, it is estimated that up to 9.9% of drivers in New Hampshire are currently driving with no insurance.
When to transfer a vehicle onto insurance after buying a used car in New Hampshire?
The best time to transfer a vehicle onto insurance after buying a used car in New Hampshire is the moment the car is paid for and before you leave the parking lot. It is easier to get the insurance out of the way, so you don’t have to worry about it later.
What violations are reported to insurance companies in New Hampshire?
The type of violations that are reported to insurance companies in New Hampshire are basic driving violations such as:
- Speeding tickets
- Car accidents, if reported
- Driving under the influence of drugs and alcohol
- Dangerous driving violations
How old do you have to be to have car insurance in New Hampshire?
In order to go on your own insurance in New Hampshire, you will need to be at least 18 years or older. However, you can be placed under your parent’s insurance if you receive your license under the age of 18 and have a car to insure.
In New Hampshire, how long does a car accident take to come off insurance record?
In New Hampshire, a car accident will stay on your insurance record for an average of 1 to 3 years. This also applies to car accidents staying on your permanent driving record.
In New Hampshire, whose insurance pays in a car accident?
In New Hampshire, the person who caused that accident tends to have their insurance pay for any damages to body or property that may have been caused. However, without insurance, the driver responsible will have to pay for these expenses out-of-pocket.
What do I need to provide to get car insurance in New Hampshire?
In order to get car insurance for a vehicle in New Hampshire, you will need to provide:
- Your current driver’s license number.
- The VIN number of the car.
- The type of insurance coverage you want for the car.
- First month’s premium payment.
When do you need to purchase insurance for a car in New Hampshire?
You do not need to purchase insurance for a car in New Hampshire. New Hampshire is one of the few states in the United States that doesn’t require the purchase of auto insurance by law. However, in the case of an accident, you will be the one responsible for all damages associated with it. While shopping for a policy see if you can find a buy now pay later car insurance policy which will save you money on deposit requirements.
How to check if a car has insurance in New Hampshire?
The best way to check if a car has car insurance in New Hampshire is to request to see proof of insurance from the driver or to visit the official New Hampshire Insurance Department website directly.
How many days do you have to file a car insurance property damage claim in New Hampshire?
If you have insured your car in New Hampshire, you have approximately 30 days to file a car insurance property damage claim with through your car insurance. The sooner you can file a claim, the better.
Does New Hampshire require SR22 insurance after DUI?
Yes you may be required to get SR22 insurance if you get a DUI in NH. Complete our form above to compare insurance SR22 options. Its best to compare multiple quotes to get the cheapest rate. A visitor to our site recently asked about transferring their SR22 insurance Ohio policy to New Hampshire and we were able to connect them with a professional that could better help them with that.
How to apply for motorcycle insurance in NH?
The best way to apply for insurance for motorcycle riders is through a company’s website. Compare your quotes to pick the best deal.
General Auto Insurance Price in New Hampshire
In this section, you will find general auto insurance price questions in New Hampshire to find the best prices for your vehicle.
How much is car insurance in New Hampshire?
Car insurance in New Hampshire is typically around $775 for a yearly premium for basic liability insurance coverage. This can equate to about $64 a month. For full coverage the yearly rate can double for as much as $1,400 to $2,000 a year. To find the cheapest car insurance compare rates from multiple companies.
What is the average car insurance cost in New Hampshire?
The average cost of car insurance in New Hampshire is a yearly rate of $775 for the basic coverage of liability. This includes the minimum for bodily injury and property damage protection.
How much is car insurance per month for a girl in New Hampshire?
The cost of car insurance per month for a girl in New Hampshire is about $64 a month. This coverage includes collision coverage, comprehensive coverage, bodily injury and property damage coverage. Check out the average cost of car insurance for 19 year old female drivers.
Why are car insurance rates going up in New Hampshire?
The reason why car insurance rates may be increasing in New Hampshire is due to the number of uninsured drivers in the state and the fact that New Hampshire currently doesn’t have any mandatory insurance laws. Perhaps you can get veterans car insurance discounts and bring the price down.
Where to find New Hampshire’s lowest auto insurance quotes?
The best place to find New Hampshire’s lowest auto insurance quotes is going to be by doing an online auto insurance comparison or through insurance companies in New Hampshire directly. Through these methods you can find the lowest quotes for your exact vehicle and with your current driving record. You may also want to get a AAA auto insurance quote and compare.
How much would car insurance cost per month for a Honda Civic in New Hampshire?
Why is New Hampshire car insurance so expensive?
New Hampshire insurance is not expensive. However, the rates of New Hampshire car insurance are increasing as the number of uninsured drivers on the road increase. It is only expensive now if you have a bad driving record that insurance companies will view as risky to insure. We can still help you find the best low cost car insurance for your area.
How much is car insurance in New Hampshire for a new driver?
Even the best car insurance for new drivers in New Hampshire can cost $890 for the year or $75 a month. This price will decrease twice: once after the driver reaches the age of 21 and again once the driver reaches the age of 25.
What county in New Hampshire has the best car insurance rates?
The county with the best car insurance rates in New Hampshire is Cheshire County. In Cheshire County, drivers can expect to have a yearly premium of $1,050 which covers the minimum collision and comprehensive coverage.
How much is car insurance when you rent a car in New Hampshire?
Depending on what country and city you rent the car from, in New Hampshire the average rate for car insurance on rental car can range from $100 for the total rental period or go as high as $500 for the entire rental period. Most car rental facilities will offer a daily payment on the insurance in addition to the daily rental rate.
Auto Insurance in New Hampshire Coverage
In this frequently asked question section, you will find general auto insurance coverage in New Hampshire questions and answers.
What are the typical deductibles for comprehensive and collision auto insurance in the state of New Hampshire?
The typical deductible for comprehensive auto insurance in the state of New Hampshire is a $1,000 deductible. For collision auto insurance, the deductible is typically $500. These deductibles can differ based on the type of coverage you purchase.
What is full coverage auto insurance in New Hampshire?
In New Hampshire, full coverage auto insurance includes state mandatory insurance which New Hampshire does not currently have, collision coverage to cover damages in the case of an accident and comprehensive coverage which protects drivers from damages not resulting from an accident.
What is the minimum auto insurance coverage in New Hampshire?
Since the state of New Hampshire currently does not have a state minimum that needs to be met, drivers can choose to have the minimum coverage of vehicle liability insurance on their car if they choose to use auto insurance.
Who is covered under New Hampshire auto insurance?
If you choose to add auto insurance to your car, what is covered depends on the type of coverage you purchase. For the minimum, most of the time it will cover a certain monetary amount for damages dealt in an accident and damages dealt in incidents not caused by an accident.
What coverage should I choose for New Hampshire car insurance?
The best type of coverage you should choose for New Hampshire car insurance will ultimately depend on what your budget is. The minimum coverage you should get is liability coverage.
Who needs full coverage car insurance in New Hampshire?
In New Hampshire, you do not need car insurance period. However, it is recommended that those who purchase new cars or who live in high-risk areas, purchase full coverage insurance for their vehicles. Look for companies that offer cheap car insurance full coverage options.
What insurance is needed to lease a car in New Hampshire?
Typically, most car dealerships that lease out vehicles will require drivers to insure the car with full coverage insurance that includes a certain monetary value for collision insurance and comprehensive coverage.
Lack of Auto Insurance in New Hampshire
In this section, you will find frequently asked questions pertaining to lack of car insurance in New Hampshire.
What do you do in New Hampshire if you have no insurance and some hits your car?
If a car hits you in New Hampshire and you have no insurance on your vehicle, the person who caused the accident will have to pay for the costs out of pocket for bodily injury and property damage.
What happens if you don’t have high risk car insurance in New Hampshire?
If you don’t have car insurance in New Hampshire, nothing will happen because the state of New Hampshire doesn’t currently have any mandatory car insurance laws in place. You alone can choose whether or not you want to insure your car.
In New Hampshire, how much for a ticket for no car insurance?
There currently is no cost to a ticket for no car insurance in New Hampshire as insuring a vehicle is completely up to the driver. If you have no insurance, you will not be penalized. Also learn about car insurance without license scenarios.
In New Hampshire, what is uninsured auto insurance mean?
In New Hampshire, the term uninsured auto insurance means having no currently auto insurance on a vehicle that you own. You can choose whether or not you wish to add your car to an insurance policy.
After lose car insurance in New Hampshire, how long do you have to get new insurance?
After you lose car insurance in New Hampshire, you have however long you wish to get new insurance on the vehicle. You can choose whether or not to add it onto a new policy or forgo auto insurance altogether.
What happens if you have an accident, but don’t have car insurance in New Hampshire?
If you have a car accident in New Hampshire but don’t have car insurance, you will be responsible for paying all bodily and property damages dealt in the accident. Failure to do so will result in suspension of your license. Related: What are the requirements for insuring a rebuilt title?
How many days do I have if my car insurance lapses in New Hampshire?
In New Hampshire if your car insurance lapses, you have as many days as you wish to transfer your vehicle onto a new insurance policy. It is also up to you if you want to continue adding your car to an auto insurance policy.
General Car Insurance Companies in New Hampshire
In this section, you will find general frequently asked questions pertain to insurance companies in New Hampshire.
How to add an automobile to New Hampshire State Farm insurance?
In order to add an automobile to New Hampshire State Farm insurance, you will need to contact a State Farm agent directly with the VIN number of the vehicle and the first month’s premium ready in hand.
In New Hampshire what auto insurance companies do not use agencies?
In New Hampshire, the auto insurance companies that do not use agencies are:
- Concord Group Insurance
- Amica Auto, Home and Life Insurance
- Nationwide Auto Insurance
- State Farm Insurance
- Progressive Auto Insurance
If you are wanting to change auto insurance companies then simply fill out our form above and compare rates of the different companies.
What companies are allowed to sell auto insurance in New Hampshire?
The companies that are currently allowed to sell auto insurance in New Hampshire are:
- State Farm Auto Insurance
- Concord Group Insurance
- Amica Auto, Home and Life Insurance
- Nationwide Auto Insurance
- GEICO Insurance
What is the cheapest car insurance in New Hampshire?
The car insurance company with the cheapest prices in New Hampshire is Concord Group Insurance. They offer the lowest yearly rates for comprehensive coverage and collision coverage with a rate of $775. See who has the cheapest auto insurance rates in the nation.
Who governs auto insurance companies in New Hampshire?
The body that governs auto insurance companies in New Hampshire is The New Hampshire Insurance Department that ensures insurance companies are meeting obligations and filling claims as they are filed.
Who offers the best auto insurance in New Hampshire?
The auto insurance companies that offers the best auto insurance rates in New Hampshire is Concord Group Insurance which offers insurance policies for new drivers, drivers with poor credit, drivers with good driving history or low insurance rates in high-risk areas.
Cheap Car Insurance Near Me in New Hampshire
How Helpful was this Article?
Please Rate this Article
You must be logged in to submit a review.