Cheapest Car Insurance Rates for July 2021
Get a Quick Quote
Cheap Auto Insurance in South Carolina: Best Companies & Quotes
Best Car Insurance Companies in South Carolina
- Auto Owners Insurance
- State Farm
- Southern Farm Bureau
|Auto Owners Insurance||Geico||State Farm||Southern Farm Bureau||Travelers||Nationwide|
|AM Best Financial Strength Rating||A++||A++||A++||A+||A+||A+|
|JD Power 2019 Overall Customer Satisfaction score||3/5||3/5||5/5||5/5||4.5/5||2/5|
|Avg Annual Premium||$567||$687||$688||$858||$1,288||$1,039|
|Consumer Reports Reader Score||N/A||78||78||N/A||N/A||N/A|
Auto Insurance Statistics in South Carolina
Auto insurance rates in South Carolina have fluctuated above and below the national average for many years. By having a look at the fluctuations in rates, drivers can get an idea of the range they can expect to pay when it comes to auto insurance premiums in South Carolina.
Top 10 Cheapest Car Insurance Companies in South Carolina
|Rank||Company Name||Avg. Annual Premium|
|5||Southern Farm Bureau||$1,586|
|6||National Grange Mutual||$1,610|
Drunk Driving Fatalities
Drinking and driving can be deadly and in South Carolina, there is no exception. In order to avoid a deadly accident, it is best to abstain from driving while under the influence of alcohol. The National Highway Traffic Safety Administration has done a tally of the number of drunk driving fatalities in South Carolina vs. nationwide.
Drunk driving fatalities in South Carolina from 2013 to 2017
Teen Drinking and Driving
Teen drinking and driving in South Carolina is slightly below the national average. This data shows that almost as many teens in South Carolina are driving while drunk as in other states across the country. The below statistics compare the percentage of South Carolina drivers that are teenagers who are drinking and driving related to national averages.
Teen Drinking & Driving in South Carolina vs. Nationwide (2017)
Source: Center For Disease Control
SR-22 Insurance in South Carolina
If you’re a driver that has committed an infraction in South Carolina, the state DMV might require you to prove that you’re insured before you can start driving again. South Carolina residents can use an SR-22 policy to do just that — your insurance provider will provide documentation to the state to prove that you have adequate coverage to drive under South Carolina law.
South Carolina SR-22 coverage can be quite expensive, especially because the personal property coverage standard is much higher than many other states. For this reason, always use comparison tools to find the best rate available in the state.
Car Theft in South Carolina
South Carolina is a state with a high level of car theft when compared with other states across the country. By finding out about the number of car thefts in South Carolina, drivers will have a more comprehensive understanding of the level of risk they take while driving and owning a car in the state.
Vehicle thefts by rank nationwide vs. South Carolina
Uninsured Motorists in South Carolina
It’s risky to drive without insurance for your vehicle since this could result in having to pay out of pocket for accident-related expenses. In the event that you are in an accident with an uninsured driver, it is beneficial to have uninsured and underinsured motorist coverage. The below data shows how well South Carolina ranks in the total number of reported uninsured motorists in the state in the year 2015.
Percentage of uninsured drivers (Top States in 2015)
Source: Insurance Information Institute
In South Carolina, motorists can prove their financial responsibility in one of the two ways below.
- Drivers must buy the minimum liability coverage required by the state as follows:
- $25,000 for bodily injury for every individual
- $50.000 coverage per accident
- $25,000 for personal property coverage
- Some residents may pay $500 yearly to register as uninsured drivers. These drivers are only allowed to drive, but they will not have insurance coverage in case they require liability coverage.
Most drivers opt for higher coverages than the state minimum so that they can protect themselves in the event of an accident. Visit South Carolina’s Department of Insurance to learn more about the auto insurance minimums.
Penalties for drivers who do not have liability coverage or cannot show proof of uninsured driver registration may range from loss of drivers’ licenses to fines and imprisonment.
Source: Department of Insurance
To help you find coverages that work well with your monthly budget, we have analyzed the cheapest auto insurance in South Carolina per city, for four cities.
As the state’s most populated city, Columbia hosts approximately 133,000 residents. Regarding auto insurance quotes, our sample drivers had their costs averaging $1,601 a year. State Auto was our most inexpensive insurer followed by Southern Farm Bureau. You can also get great deals from Allstate, Grange Mutual, and State Farm as they emerged the next three low-cost auto insurers in Columbia, SC. The average price of insurance at these five insurance companies was 1,280 a year. This was 25 percent less what the typical insurer charged in the city a year.
Rock Hill, SC
Rock Hill is the fifth largest town in the Palmetto State with more than 66,000 residents living within its borders. Auto insurance prices in this city are lower compared to other cities within the same state. Averagely, our sample drivers paid $1,475 a year to cover a vehicle with basic liability insurance. That is 4 percent lower than other cities in South Carolina.
Our sample drivers received $1,164 a year as the best insurance quote from three different insurers: State Auto, State Farm, and Southern Farm Bureau. This represented a 25 percent reduction from the current rate from insurance providers in the city.
Cheap car insurance in Charleston can be attained through some price shopping. Our sample motorists recorded an annual rate of $1,641, making the city 7 percent more expensive than the state average. Still, getting a quote from any of the three insurers with the best prices could save you 21 percent. The three insurers would be State Farm, State Auto, and Southern Farm Bureau, who have policies that cost an average of $1,356 a year for standard liability coverage.
Car insurance in Greenville is relatively cheap with drivers paying an average of $1,404 a year. This is 9 percent of the state’s average. Insurers offering affordable auto insurance rates in Greenville include State Auto, National Grange Mutual, and Southern Farm Bureau. The three insurers provided lower rates to our sample drivers and registered a 22 percent discount in comparison with the city’s mean. The average annual rate from the three companies was $1,148, which is $256 better than the Greenville average.
The Methodologies Used in the Survey
The auto insurance quotes cited in the above study are for a standard driver with state minimum insurance coverage and auto insurance deductible worth $500 for one vehicle. The driver is a 4o-year-old male college graduate with good credit, no claims or lapse in coverage, and has a clean driving record. The driver drives 16,000 miles a year commuting and garages the car on premises. Remember the auto quotes are mere estimates. They include common discounts, but not guaranteed. Make sure you confirm current rates from the individual insurers.
To get the lowest auto insurance rates in South Carolina cities, be sure to shop around and compare rates from various insurers. Also, ask about the available discounts and the ones that you qualify for. Other factors that will determine your car insurance quote in South Carolina include marital status, driving record, credit report, geographic area, age and gender, and past coverage.
Types of Auto Insurance Coverage in South Carolina:
- Comprehensive Insurance Coverage
- Bodily Injury Liability Insurance
- Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Bodily Injury Insurance
- Uninsured Motorist Property Damage Insurance
- Property Damage Liability Insurance
New Driver Requirements in South Carolina
South Carolina has regulations in place that require all new residents to get a state driver’s license within 90 days of becoming a new resident. Drivers that are transferring an out of state license will need to first surrender their license and then take a vision test in order to hold a South Carolina driver license.
The three steps for beginner drivers to obtain their license include getting a beginner permit, conditional license, and special restricted license.
Cheap Auto Insurance Discounts
At CheapAutoInsurance.co, we strive to help you save as much as you can on car insurance. That is why we have put together a list of the best auto insurance discounts in the state. Browse the list below to find some of the auto insurance discounts listed that can help you to save on the cost of car insurance in South Carolina each year.
- Anti-theft discount
- Mature driver discount
- Military or Veteran discount
- Bundling insurance policies discount
- Senior citizen discount
- Car safety features discount
- Good student discount
- Defensive driving discount
- Low-mileage discount
- Multi-car auto insurance discount
- Infrequent usage discount
General Auto Insurance in South Carolina
This section covers general and frequently asked auto insurance questions in South Carolina.
What documents do I need to get car insurance in South Carolina?
In order to get insurance in South Carolina, the documents that you will need include a valid driver’s license, proof of ability to pay or first month’s payment and bill of sale for the vehicle if the car is new.
What is the best auto insurance in South Carolina?
The best type of auto insurance to get in South Carolina is full coverage insurance, especially if you live in a high-risk area. If not, then the next best insurance, especially for those on a budget, is liability insurance. Do a car insurance quote comparison with multiple companies to get the best rate. We also review the best classic car insurance companies in case you have a car that fits this description.
How does car insurance work for rental cars in South Carolina?
Car insurance for rental cars in South Carolina works by giving you additional protection in the case you get into a car accident in the rental car. This type of insurance can work on top of your current insurance and is charged by a daily additional price on top of the rate for renting the car.
If a car hits my parked car but no one is around, what do I do with my insurance in South Carolina?
If a car happens to hit your parked car while no one is around, you should report the incident immediately to your insurance company. The property damage coverage from your insurance will pay for the damage to your car.
When are you required to add a child to a car insurance policy in South Carolina?
You will only be required to add a child to your car insurance policy in South Carolina if they are able to drive the car. This will vary based on the insurance company you are insured with.
What insurance is required for a financed car in South Carolina?
The type of insurance that is typically required for financing a car in South Carolina is full coverage insurance. This type of insurance will also have to include uninsured motorist coverage in the same equal amount to the full insurance coverage.
What car and renter’s insurance are available in South Carolina?
In South Carolina, there are plenty of insurance companies that offer both car and renter’s insurance in the same package. These insurance companies are:
- State Farm
- Amica Insurance
- Nationwide Insurance
- Allstate Insurance
- Liberty Mutual Insurance
When did car insurance become mandatory in South Carolina?
Car insurance in South Carolina became mandatory in 1957, after Massachusetts became the first state in the United States to require drivers to have insurance on their vehicles before registering them.
How to add a car onto an auto insurance policy in South Carolina?
The best way to add a car onto an auto insurance policy in South Carolina is to call the desired car insurance company directly after receiving a quote and talk to an insurance representative. Learn more about how to switch car insurance to new car.
How to appeal South Carolina insurance adjudication for insurance?
To appeal a South Carolina insurance adjudication for insurance is to go to court and challenge the adjudication directly. This will require the use of a lawyer and could result in fees.
Is there a grace period for car insurance when buying a used car in South Carolina?
Yes. While this may depend on the insurance company, most insurance policies allow a grace period between 7 to 30 days to inform the company of the purchase of a new vehicle. If you don’t have coverage then you can buy car insurance online now.
What affects your car insurance policy in South Carolina?
There are several violations and factors that can affect your car insurance policy in South Carolina such as:
- Speeding tickets
- DUI infractions
- State tax increase
- Previous car accidents
- Personal driving record
How soon should I change car insurance when moving to South Carolina?
In South Carolina, you will have between 30 to 90 to change your car insurance or inform them of your move. However, it is recommended that you inform your car insurance of the move as soon as possible. Some people opt for cheap monthly car insurance until they’re ready to commit to a longer term policy.
Does a South Carolina resident who is in the military have to have South Carolina car insurance?
Yes. If a resident of South Carolina has a car in the state, regardless if they are in the military or not will have to have car insurance coverage on the vehicle as required by the state.
What do you need to have for South Carolina for auto insurance?
In South Carolina, it is required by state law to have the minimum insurance of uninsured motorist coverage which has to include property damage coverage per accident, bodily injury coverage per person and per accident. To get car insurance now start by entering a zip code above.
How long do you have after you get a bill of sale on a car to get car insurance in South Carolina?
In South Carolina, you typically have to get car insurance on a new car within hours of getting the bill of sale. Most car dealerships in the state of South Carolina will not allow you to leave the parking lot without the necessary car insurance coverage.
Do you have to get your own car insurance in South Carolina when you get married?
No. It is solely at your discretion if you want to get your own car insurance when you get married. You can be placed on your spouse’s car insurance policy and benefit from a discounted price.
How long does a car accident stay on your insurance in South Carolina?
A car accident can stay on your insurance record in South Carolina for up to three years. However, your insurance company can decide based on the type of accident and whether or not you caused it, if they want to raise your insurance rates.
Does a person in South Carolina who has a driver’s license have to have auto insurance?
Yes, if they own a car and expect to drive that car on South Carolina roads. If a person in South Carolina who has a driver’s license, but doesn’t own a car, doesn’t need to have an auto insurance policy. Also read: Getting insurance for unlicensed driver.
What insurance info do you have to leave if you hit a car in South Carolina?
If you hit a car in South Carolina but can’t find the victim, the type of information you should leave for the victim is:
- Your insurance information including the policy number.
- Full name
- Phone number where you can be reached.
What does it mean to stack car insurance in South Carolina?
In South Carolina, the term stack car insurance means using multiple insurance policies which allows you to file claims in the case of an accident against underinsured or uninsured motorist policies, even if the policies cover cars that were not involved in an accident.
Do you have to have car insurance in South Carolina?
Yes. It is required by South Carolina law to be insured by an insurance policy if you have a valid driver’s license and have a car that you can drive. You will need to carry the state minimum liability coverage on any car that you drive.
Auto Insurance Prices in South Carolina
In this section, you will find commonly asked questions about South Carolina auto insurance prices.
How much is car insurance in South Carolina?
The average price of car insurance in South Carolina is around $1,257 while the national average for car insurance is $1,500. This will ultimately depend on the type of coverage and car insurance. Read more: How much is auto insurance?
Why is car insurance so expensive in South Carolina?
Car insurance in South Carolina is, on the contrary, cheaper than most states in the United States. However, current rates may be increasing due to the rise of state taxes or new car insurance legislation being passed. We talk more in depth about how to find cheap auto insurance in another article.
What county in South Carolina has the highest auto insurance rates?
The county in South Carolina with the highest auto insurance rates is Oconee County. The average rate for the state minimum liability insurance ranges between $1,300 to $1,400 for a driver over the age of 24.
How much is full auto insurance coverage when a car is financed in South Carolina?
The price of full coverage auto insurance for a car that is financed in South Carolina can range in price from $250 at the lowest to as high as $400. This number depends on the monetary value of collision and comprehensive coverage offered with the policy.
Why did my car insurance go up in the state of South Carolina?
Your car insurance rate may have gone up in the state of South Carolina based on many factors. However, the most likely cause of an insurance price hike is due to the raise of state taxes or new auto insurance legislation.
How much will I pay for car insurance in South Carolina?
You can expect to pay an average of $1,200 a year for the state minimum liability coverage. This will depend on the insurance company, if you live in a high-risk area and your personal driving record. To reduce this see if you can locate car insurance no immediate payment required upfront.
What auto insurance is the lowest in South Carolina?
The lowest auto insurance in South Carolina that you can buy is basic liability coverage. This policy will have to include the minimum bodily injury coverage per person of $25,000 and property damage coverage of $25,000 per accident. Using a car insurance estimator may give you a better idea of what you’re going to pay overall.
How to get the best rates on auto insurance in South Carolina?
The best way to get the best rates on auto insurance in South Carolina is to shop around for the best car insurance rates, check for discounts on insurance rates with specific insurance companies, make sure to pay your insurance bill on time, skimp on the collision and comprehensive coverage for older vehicles and raise your insurance deductible.
How to reduce your car insurance in South Carolina?
The best way to reduce your car insurance in South Carolina is to shop around the least expensive car insurance rates, compare rates of different companies, increase deductibles, reduce the coverage on older cars, make sure to maintain good credit and use low mileage discounts to your advantage.
How do I find the best deal on auto insurance in South Carolina?
The best way for you to find the best deal on auto insurance in South Carolina is to do your research and shop around to find the best rates. Don’t automatically assume the first quote you get is necessarily the best.
What does a 25 year old pay for car insurance in South Carolina?
A 25 year old can expect to pay around $1,200 a year for car insurance in South Carolina. This can vary depending on the type of coverage this person buys, personal driving history and the insurance company. If you’re in school then you can get cheap car insurance for students in college.
How much is the average auto insurance policies in South Carolina?
Average insurance policies in South Carolina cost about $1,200 for a yearly premium or around $100 a month for the state minimum of liability coverage with property damage and bodily injury protection.
How does South Carolina compare to Florida for car insurance?
Florida is one of the more expensive states for car insurance. South Carolina can be a few hundred dollars less a year on average depending on a number of factors. If you’re talking about specialized insurance types, such as Florida SR22 insurance, this comparison could be different.
Where can I get cheap motorcycle insurance in South Carolina?
You can get cheap motorcycle insurance using an online comparison tool to see what rate different companies will offer you. When I needed the cheapest motorcycle insurance company I simply went to Google and looked for motorcycle insurance near me and found plenty of companies.
Lack of Car Insurance in South Carolina
This frequently asked question section covers basic questions regarding to the lack of car insurance in South Carolina.
How long can you go without high risk auto insurance in South Carolina?
In a sense, you can go as long as you desire without auto insurance in South Carolina. However, going without car insurance on your vehicle can result in serious consequences and possible fines.
What is the time frame for turning in your tags after insurance has been dropped on a car in South Carolina?
In South Carolina, you will have approximately 30 to 60 days to turn in your car tags after being dropped from a car insurance policy. However, if you insure your vehicle on another car insurance policy and provide proof to the DMV, you can keep your tags.
What is the penalty in South Carolina if your auto insurance expired 4 months ago and you didn’t know it?
The penalty for driving a car without auto insurance, even if you didn’t know about it, can result in loss of driving privileges, loss of your license plate, loss of vehicle registration, up to a $500 fine and possible arrest.
If someone hits your car in South Carolina and they don’t have insurance, what can I do to get compensated?
If someone hits your car in South Carolina and they don’t have any insurance to cover the damages, you can still get compensated by suing the driver who caused the accident.
What is the fine in South Carolina for letting car insurance become cancelled and not turning your tag in?
The penalty in South Carolina for letting your car insurance to become cancelled and failing to turn in your tags can result in a fine of $100 to $200 for the first offense and $200 and a prison term of 30 days for the second offense.
Car Insurance Coverage in South Carolina
In this section, you will find general questions and answers to car insurance coverage in South Carolina.
What is the standard car insurance liability coverage in South Carolina?
The standard car insurance liability coverage that is required in South Carolina will include a minimum of $25,000 for bodily injury or death per person, a minimum of $50,000 for bodily injury or death per accident and a minimum of $25,000 for property damage. Many people opt to get car insurance liability only because its cheaper.
What car insurance coverage do I need in South Carolina if I own my car?
The type of car insurance coverage that you need for a car you own in South Carolina is state mandatory liability insurance with bodily injury and property damage coverage per accident and per person.
What does full coverage car insurance cover in South Carolina?
Full coverage car insurance in South Carolina covers the state required liability insurance, cover bodily injury for per person on the policy and property damages per accident caused by an accident you cause. Learn more: What is full coverage auto insurance?
Does South Carolina require SR-22 insurance after a DUI?
South Carolina is one of the many states that requires SR22 insurance if you have been convicted of a DUI. Fill out our form above to get a SR22 insurance quote and be sure to compare multiple companies to get the cheapest rate.
Auto Insurance Companies in South Carolina
In this frequently asked question section, you will find answer to questions pertaining to auto insurance companies in South Carolina.
What is a good insurance company for a car in South Carolina?
A good car insurance company for car insurance in South Carolina is State Farm. State Farm offers some of the car insurance rates for liability and full coverage insurance in the state. If you feel your premiums are too high then you can ask these companies how to reduce auto insurance cost.
In South Carolina, what happens if a car insurance company offers less than what is required in the state?
If a car insurance company offers less than what is required in the state, you can report the company to the Department of Insurance in South Carolina. Then you will need to find an insurance company that offers the state required insurance that you need.
In South Carolina, how much time must a car insurance company respond to a demand letter for property damage?
In South Carolina, a car insurance company can take as long as 45 days to respond to a demand letter for property damage. If the car insurance hasn’t responded by this time, they have most likely chosen not to accept the letter.
How do I change car insurance in South Carolina?
The best way to change car insurance in South Carolina is to contact the car insurance company you are interested in switching to and purchase an insurance policy for your car. Then you will need to call your previous insurance company to cancel your old policy.
Who has the most affordable car insurance in South Carolina for high risk drivers?
The most affordable car insurance in South Carolina for high-risk drivers is State Farm. High risk insurance is for those who have more negative items on their driving record such as reckless driving or a DUI. State Farm offers the basic liability insurance coverage starting at approximately $1,800 yearly or $150 a month. This could also apply for teenagers. Compare multiple quotes online to get cheap car insurance for teens.
How do car insurance companies in South Carolina rate your policy?
Car insurance companies in South Carolina rate your policy based on a variety of factors such as:
- Personal driving record.
- Whether you live in a high risk or low risk area.
- The type of coverage you are looking for.
- Your age.
- Credit history.
- History of DUII’s.
How much will my auto insurance pay for an auto death in South Carolina?
If you have the standard liability insurance as required by South Carolina law, the coverage for an auto death will cover up to a maximum of $50,000 per death. If there is more than one person that has died in an accident that you cause, you will be responsible for covering any cost associated with the death.
What is the best auto insurance company in South Carolina?
The best insurance company in South Carolina is State Farm. State Farm offers some of the lowest prices on insurance in the state as well as have the best customer service than any of its competitors. You may want to check out local auto insurance companies as well.
Top Cities in South Carolina
How Helpful was this Article?
Please Rate this Article
You must be logged in to submit a review.